H.R. No. 475

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Ronald H. Hufford will retire as executive director 2 of the Texas Forestry Association on December 31, 2017, drawing to a 3 close more than three decades of outstanding service to that 4 institution; and

5 WHEREAS, After earning a bachelor's degree in forestry from Southern Illinois University in 1971, Mr. Hufford served his 6 7 country for four years as a pilot in the U.S. Air Force; he then joined the Southern Forest Products Association, where he worked as 8 9 a field representative, as director of field services, and ultimately as vice president of the Forest Resources 10 and 11 Environmental Division; and

12 WHEREAS, In 1984, Mr. Hufford assumed the helm of the Texas Forestry Association, and he has excelled over the past 33 years in 13 14 furthering that organization's mission to promote forest conservation and the forestry industry; he has also chaired the 15 16 Texas Agricultural Council, the Texas Society of American Foresters, and the Texas A&M Forest Science Advisory Council, and 17 has served on the advisory board of the Texas Agricultural Lifetime 18 Leadership Program; and 19

20 WHEREAS, Mr. Hufford's many accolades include the 21 Distinguished Service to Forestry Award from the Texas Society of 22 American Foresters, the Bill Clements Memorial Award from Build 23 East Texas, and the Fellow Award from the Society of American 24 Foresters; in 2015, this esteemed Texan was inducted into the Texas

1

H.R. No. 475 1 Forestry Hall of Fame, and in 2016, the new TFA headquarters 2 building in Lufkin was named in his honor; and

3 WHEREAS, Throughout his tenure as TFA executive director, Ron 4 Hufford has brought to his myriad duties an exceptional breadth of 5 experience and a consummate professionalism, and he may indeed 6 reflect with pride on a career well spent as he embarks upon the 7 next exciting chapter of his life; now, therefore, be it

8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 9 Legislature hereby honor Ronald H. Hufford for his exemplary 10 leadership of the Texas Forestry Association and extend to him 11 sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

12 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 13 prepared for Mr. Hufford as an expression of high regard by the 14 Texas House of Representatives.

Ashby

2

H.R. No. 475

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 475

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 475 was adopted by the House on February 23, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House