H.R. No. 492

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, February 23, 2017, marks the 100th anniversary of
- 2 the signing of the Smith-Hughes Act, the first major federal
- 3 legislation to support the teaching of agriculture and other
- 4 vocational subjects in high school; and
- 5 WHEREAS, During the late 19th and early 20th centuries, the
- 6 need for vocational and technical education to augment academic
- 7 study was increasingly recognized by teachers, agriculturists,
- 8 home economists, and industry leaders; in 1914, the United States
- 9 Congress established the Commission on National Aid to Vocational
- 10 Education, which concluded that federal funding was necessary to
- 11 ensure the success of such programs; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Based on the recommendations of the commission,
- 13 Senator Hoke Smith of Georgia introduced Senate Bill 703 on
- 14 December 7, 1915, and on February 10, 1916, Representative Dudley
- 15 Hughes laid out a companion bill, House Bill 11250; Senator Smith's
- 16 bill enjoyed support from both chambers of Congress as well as from
- 17 President Woodrow Wilson, who urged Congress to take action on it;
- 18 and
- 19 WHEREAS, A diverse range of interest groups, including
- 20 industrialists, labor unions, and agricultural scientists, were
- 21 united in their endorsement of the legislation; support for the
- 22 measure was further intensified by the perception that Germany,
- 23 then engaged in the Great War, had outstripped America in
- 24 developing an advanced workforce to sustain its agricultural and

1 industrial might; and

25

26

27

WHEREAS, On February 17, 1917, Senate Bill 703--now known as 2 3 the Smith-Hughes Act--was approved by Congress in a bipartisan vote, and on February 23, President Wilson signed the bill into law; 4 5 Texas state senator Claude Hudspeth of El Paso subsequently introduced a bill to accept the benefits of the federal act, which 6 was approved by the 35th Texas Legislature on May 8, 1917; and 7 8 WHEREAS, Today, 15 million young Americans, including some 1.2 million Texans, are enrolled in occupational courses in 16 9 10 cutting-edge career areas; their experiences in those programs are 11 empowering them to succeed in postsecondary education and in the 12 free-market economy, both as employees and as entrepreneurs; in addition, the advent of vocational education has led to the 13 14 establishment of a range of youth leadership development 15 organizations, including FFA, SkillsUSA, HOSA, and the Future Business Leaders of America, which are preparing their members to 16 17 become engaged citizens and effective leaders in the work of self-government, the foundation of this constitutional republic; 18 19 and WHEREAS, In the century since the passage of the landmark 20 21 Smith-Hughes Act, vocational education has opened the doors of opportunity for countless youth and contributed significantly to 22 23 the strength and prosperity of this nation; now, therefore, be it 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas

Legislature hereby commemorate the 100th anniversary of the signing

of the Smith-Hughes Act and encourage Texans to learn more about the

fine work being done by outstanding career and technical teachers

H.R. No. 492

1 in communities across the state.

VanDeaver

H.R. No. 492

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Gooden Alvarado Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Bell Hinojosa Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Rodriguez of Bexar Isaac Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Coleman Shine Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Wilson Frank Workman Murphy Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	H.R. No. 492
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 492 was 23, 2017, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House