RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, February 21, 2017, is University of 2 Houston--Downtown Day at the State Capitol, and the occasion 3 provides a fitting opportunity to recognize those associated with 4 this notable institution; and

1974, the 5 WHEREAS, Established in University of Houston--Downtown boasts more than 44,000 alumni and is meeting 6 higher education needs in an area that is home to a quarter of the 7 Texas population and that generates nearly a third of the state's 8 9 gross product; moreover, the university has generated \$1.2 billion in income for the regional economy; and 10

11 WHEREAS, UHD educates approximately 14,400 students annually 12 with over 2,900 graduates each year; the university offers 52 13 undergraduate and graduate academic programs, as well as 18 online 14 degree-completion opportunities; it is home to the top-ranked MBA 15 program in Houston, and U.S. News and World Report placed it 31st 16 on its list of Best Regional Colleges in the West; and

WHEREAS, Over the years, the university has expanded its partnerships with Houston Community College, Lone Star College, and others to allow for greater transferability for students who wish to earn degrees at UHD; and

21 WHEREAS, The student body at UHD is representative of the 22 vibrant city of Houston; many of its scholars are first-generation 23 college students, and the university has earned national 24 designation as both a Hispanic Serving Institution and a Minority

1

1 Serving Institution; and

WHEREAS, Throughout its history, the University 2 of Houston--Downtown has provided its students with outstanding 3 educational prospects and a strong foundation for the future while 4 5 fostering an inclusive, equitable, and welcoming campus 6 environment, and in so doing, it has played an important role in the cultural and economic advancement of the Lone Star State; now, 7 therefore, be it 8

9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 10 Legislature hereby recognize February 21, 2017, as University of 11 Houston--Downtown Day at the State Capitol and extend to the 12 visiting delegation sincere best wishes for an informative and 13 enjoyable stay in Austin.

Alvarado

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 493 was adopted by the House on February 21, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House