RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The observance of Texas Whole Child Month in April
- 2 2017 provides a fitting opportunity to reflect on how to best
- 3 address the needs of the Lone Star State's youngest residents; and
- WHEREAS, Recognizing that true student success entails more
- 5 than just academic achievement, the nonprofit organization ASCD
- 6 launched the Whole Child Initiative in 2007; this comprehensive
- 7 approach to education seeks to adequately prepare today's young
- 8 Texans for the demands of college, the job market, and good
- 9 citizenship; and
- 10 WHEREAS, The initiative highlights five key elements that
- 11 children need to become happy, productive members of society:
- 12 support from qualified and caring adults, rigorous academic
- 13 standards, school environments that foster engagement in both the
- 14 learning process and the wider community, training in how to lead
- 15 healthy lifestyles, and physical and emotional safety; and
- 16 WHEREAS, The continued prosperity and vitality of our state
- 17 depends on our children's achieving their full potential, which in
- 18 turn requires educational policies that ensure young Texans are
- 19 healthy, safe, and successful; now, therefore, be it
- 20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 21 Legislature hereby recognize April 2017 as Texas Whole Child Month
- 22 and encourage parents, educators, and community members to support
- 23 a whole-child approach to education.

Howard

H.R. No. 521

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins	Goldman Gonzales of Williamson González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez	Oliverson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler
Gervin-Hawkins Giddings	Nevárez Oliveira	Zedler Zerwas

_	
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 521 was ad	opted by the House on February
23, 2017, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House

H.R. No. 521