RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, On February 21, 2017, proud residents of the Texas 2 Panhandle are visiting Austin for Panhandle Day at the State 3 Capitol, a celebration of the rich heritage of this important 4 region of the Lone Star State; and

5 WHEREAS, The striking landscape of the Panhandle ranges from the vast grasslands and open sky of the Llano Estacado to the 6 breathtaking vistas of Palo Duro Canyon and the Caprock Escarpment 7 to the gently undulating rolling plains of the southeast; the 8 ancient Paleo-Indians once lived here, as did members of later 9 Native American cultures, and in 1541, when the explorer Francisco 10 11 Vázquez de Coronado passed through the area, he found a rich 12 rangeland, thick with buffalo; and

13 WHEREAS, The Panhandle's distinctive shape results from 14 boundaries that were established by the Compromise of 1850, and in the decades after the Civil War, pioneering cattlemen such as 15 Charles Goodnight, James Adair, and Thomas Sherman Bugbee 16 established enormous ranching empires; the arrival of the railroad 17 18 in the late 1880s hastened the development of wheat and cotton farming, and the discovery of oil and natural gas in the 1920s 19 further boosted and diversified the region's economy; and 20

21 WHEREAS, Today, the Panhandle continues to prosper from 22 farming and from the oil, gas, and wind industries, and 23 cattle-raising remains a multibillion-dollar business, with more 24 feedlots in the region than anywhere else in the nation; Amarillo,

1

the Panhandle's largest city, is home to such large employers as Xcel Energy, Tyson Foods, Bell Helicopter, Pantex, and several health care systems, as well as to the Texas Cattle Feeders Association; Pampa, the second-largest city, is a thriving center for petroleum and livestock, and Dalhart boasts the annual XIT

H.R. No. 526

4 Association; Pampa, the second-largest city, is a thriving center 5 for petroleum and livestock, and Dalhart boasts the annual XIT 6 Rodeo and Reunion and the Hilmar Cheese Company; Sunray is home to a 7 Valero refinery, while Dumas and Hereford are known for cattle 8 feeding and beef processing enterprises; Panhandle serves as county 9 seat of Carson County and is home to Panhandle Elementary School, a 10 2016 National Blue Ribbon School, and Borger is the site of a 11 Phillips 66 refinery and an Agrium nitrogen plant; and

1

2

3

WHEREAS, The educational needs of the Panhandle's residents are served by the nationally recognized Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center and West Texas A&M University, as well as such first-rate junior college institutions of higher learning as Amarillo College, Frank Phillips College, and Clarendon College; and

WHEREAS, The Panhandle features a variety of notable cultural 18 19 and recreational attractions; Amarillo supports the Lone Star Ballet and the Amarillo Symphony, and the city's many museums 20 include the American Quarter Horse Heritage Center and Museum, the 21 Don Harrington Discovery Center, the Texas Air and Space Museum, 22 23 the Amarillo Railroad Museum, the Amarillo Museum of Art, and the 24 Kwahadi Museum of the American Indian; the Panhandle-Plains Historical Museum in Canyon houses more than two million artifacts 25 26 that evoke the heritage of the region, while Palo Duro Canyon State Park hosts the outdoor musical drama Texas, which portrays the 27

2

struggles and triumphs of area settlers in the 19th century; Dumas
draws visitors from across the region for its Dogie Days every June,
and Stratford, the county seat of Sherman County, hosts its popular
Jamboree each July; and

5 WHEREAS, The people of the Texas Panhandle are blessed to 6 live in a region of abundant natural resources and windswept 7 beauty, and they may indeed take great pride in the important 8 contributions they have made and continue to make to the history, 9 culture, and prosperity of Texas; now, therefore, be it

10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 11 Legislature hereby recognize February 21, 2017, as Panhandle Day at 12 the State Capitol and extend to those attending the celebration 13 sincere best wishes for a memorable and meaningful event.

Price

3

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 526 was adopted by the House on February 21, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House