H.R. No. 529

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Friends and family are mourning the loss of Iris 2 McCauley Jones of Carthage, who passed away on December 2, 2016, at 3 the age of 93; and

WHEREAS, The daughter of James and Ida McCauley, the former Iris McCauley was born on May 31, 1923, in San Augustine; she received her education at Shelbyville High School and graduated with the Class of 1940; and

WHEREAS, On October 25, 1941, this esteemed Texan exchanged 8 9 the vows of matrimony with Melvin Jones, and the couple went on to 10 share a richly rewarding marriage that spanned 55 years, until his 11 death in 1996; Mrs. Jones was the proud mother of three children, 12 Wanda, Tom, and Linda, and over the years, she had the pleasure of seeing her family grow to include 4 grandchildren, Kent, Brooke, 13 Lee, and Jessica, and 10 great-grandchildren, Iris, Sam, Elizabeth, 14 Emily, Christopher, Noah, Lee Andrew, Linda, Dawson, and Lois; and 15

16 WHEREAS, Before moving to Carthage, Mrs. Jones resided in 17 Center, where she was a member of the First Baptist Church and the 18 Rachel Sunday school class; she was also active in Beta Sigma Phi, 19 the Order of the Eastern Star, and a number of garden and book 20 clubs, and in her leisure time, she enjoyed cooking, sewing, and 21 decorating; and

WHEREAS, Admired for her grace, warmth, and generosity, Iris Jones brightened the world for all who had the good fortune to know her, and they will forever hold her close in their hearts; now,

1

H.R. No. 529

1 therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 3 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Iris McCauley Jones 4 and extend deepest condolences to her family and friends; and, be it 5 further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of 8 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Iris 9 McCauley Jones.

Paddie

H.R. No. 529

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 529 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on March 2, 2017.

Chief Clerk of the House