H.R. No. 530

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Proud residents of Chambers County are gathering in
- 2 Austin on February 22, 2017, to celebrate Chambers County Day at the
- 3 State Capitol; and
- WHEREAS, Situated on some 600 square miles of Gulf Coast
- 5 plains, the area that is now Chambers County has a long and colorful
- 6 history; once the home of Karankawa, Coapite, and Copane Indians,
- 7 it was the site of a Spanish mission in the mid-1700s and a
- 8 short-lived French colony in the early 1800s; later, in 1832 and
- 9 1835, disturbances at Anahuac between settlers and Mexican
- 10 authorities foreshadowed the Texas Revolution; the county was
- 11 officially created in 1858 from portions of Liberty and Jefferson
- 12 Counties and named for Thomas Jefferson Chambers, a local lawyer
- 13 and landowner; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Anahuac serves as the county seat, and other
- 15 communities include Beach City, Cove, Double Bayou, Hankamer, Mont
- 16 Belvieu, Oak Island, Old River-Winfree, Smith Point, Stowell,
- 17 Wallisville, and Winnie; located between the Houston metropolitan
- 18 area and the Golden Triangle of Beaumont-Port Arthur-Orange, the
- 19 county combines the tranquility of rural living with convenient
- 20 access to big-city amenities; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Tourists enjoy the many attractions and festivals
- 22 offered by the county; Anahuac, designated as the official
- 23 Alligator Capital of Texas, hosts the Texas Gatorfest each
- 24 September, and Winnie hosts the Texas Rice Festival, celebrating

- 1 the annual rice harvest; and
- 2 WHEREAS, Visitors are also drawn to the area for recreational
- 3 opportunities such as birding, fishing, hunting, crabbing,
- 4 boating, camping, and golfing; Chambers County is home to the
- 5 Anahuac National Wildlife Refuge, where more than 280 species of
- 6 birds can be seen, as well as the Candy Cain Abshier Wildlife
- 7 Management Area, Wallisville Heritage Park, Moody National
- 8 Wildlife Refuge, and the Trinity River Island Recreation Area; and
- 9 WHEREAS, In addition to tourism, the county's economy is
- 10 supported by the petroleum industry, chemical plants,
- 11 agribusiness, fish and oyster processing, and manufacturing; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Treasuring their rich history as they work to build
- 13 a bright future, the citizens of Chambers County are justifiably
- 14 proud of their community, and it is most fitting to take this
- 15 opportunity to honor their contributions to the Lone Star State;
- 16 now, therefore, be it
- 17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 18 Legislature hereby recognize February 22, 2017, as Chambers County
- 19 Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation
- 20 sincere best wishes for an enjoyable and informative stay in
- 21 Austin.

Faircloth

H.R. No. 530

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo	Goldman Gonzales of Williamson González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr	Oliverson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray
Frank	Murphy	Workman
Frullo	Murr	Wray
Geren	Neave	Wu
Gervin-Hawkins	Nevárez	Zedler
Giddings	Oliveira	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 530
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 530 was 22, 2017, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House