RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Members of the Greater Houston Women's Chamber of 2 Commerce are visiting the State Capitol on February 28, 2017, in 3 celebration of the 10th anniversary of their organization's 4 founding; and

WHEREAS, Established in December 2007, the GHWCC is one of 5 the nation's fastest-growing women's chambers, with approximately 6 7 1,000 member businesses; the organization is committed to the governor's goal of making Texas the country's top state for 8 9 women-owned businesses, and to that end, it provides numerous opportunities for women to build business relationships and to 10 11 enhance leadership skills and career progress; the chamber has 12 implemented such initiatives as the Regional Outreach and Smart Start for Women Entrepreneurs, and its Houston On Board program 13 14 serves as a resource for corporations seeking to identify successful women to serve on corporate and private boards; and 15

16 WHEREAS, The GHWCC works in behalf of the next generation of women business leaders through mentorship, and it partners with 17 numerous 18 area school districts; every year, it presents scholarships to two female graduates from each of these districts, 19 20 and it hosts Love What You Do events to offer young women valuable 21 job-shadowing placements with entrepreneurs and business 22 executives; moreover, its STEAM Town USA program encourages 23 third-grade girls to pursue interests in science, technology, 24 engineering, arts, and math careers; and

1

WHEREAS, Recognizing a vital need, the chamber formed its 1 Women's Health Network Committee to unite health professionals in 2 furthering education, research, and advocacy; its IGNITE program 3 serves as a platform to improve health care by developing 4 5 relationships and generating innovative solutions; dedicated to expanding business opportunities, it sponsors global trade 6 missions and such initiatives as the International Women's Chamber 7 8 of Commerce, Partnering in the Community, and the inaugural International Conference for Women; and 9

10 WHEREAS, Over the past decade, the Greater Houston Women's 11 Chamber of Commerce has been dedicated to the advancement and 12 empowerment of women in business, and in so doing, it has 13 contributed significantly to prosperity throughout the region; 14 now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the Greater Houston Women's Chamber of Commerce on its 10th anniversary and extend to its members sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

20 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 21 prepared for the chamber as an expression of high regard by the 22 Texas House of Representatives.

Thompson of Harris

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 537 was adopted by the House on February 28, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House