## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, For nearly 130 years, United Way has raised funds to 2 support the work of relief agencies in local communities, and the 3 celebration of United Way Day at the State Capitol offers a welcome 4 opportunity to honor this organization for the critical role it 5 plays in bettering the lives of countless Texans; and

6 WHEREAS, Established in 1887, United Way envisions a world 7 where everyone has an opportunity to succeed and where entire 8 communities thrive as a result; local affiliates build productive 9 relationships among philanthropists, the public sector, and 10 leaders in both the business and nonprofit communities to identify 11 and implement solutions based on the needs in their communities; 12 and

WHEREAS, Texas is home to more than 70 United Way organizations, which collectively raise some \$250 million each year; these affiliates are working on such community-driven initiatives as removing barriers to school readiness for children under the age of six, improving high school graduation rates and college readiness, developing 2-1-1 information and referrals, and helping individuals achieve financial stability; and

20 WHEREAS, By mobilizing thousands of volunteers, engaging 21 their compassion and energy in behalf of others, and collaborating 22 with groups that are committed to the achievement of similar goals, 23 United Way organizations are strengthening in myriad ways the 24 social fabric of their communities; now, therefore, be it

1

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 2 Legislature hereby recognize March 1, 2017, as United Way Day at the 3 State Capitol and commend all those associated with United Way for 4 their immeasurable contributions to the Lone Star State.

Howard

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 540 was adopted by the House on March 1, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House