RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, A group of 60 students from the Lewisville 2 Independent School District is visiting Austin on February 22, 3 2017, to participate in Literacy Education Day at the State 4 Capitol; and

5 WHEREAS, The young men and women from Lewisville ISD are 6 joining students and teachers from across the state to promote the 7 value of reading and writing curricula in kindergarten through 12th 8 grade; and

9 WHEREAS, Literacy Education Day focuses attention on the 10 essential role these studies play in a broad range of applications 11 and emphasizes the important work that is carried out by the 50,000 12 Texas teachers who specialize in English language arts and reading; 13 and

14 WHEREAS, Through their involvement in this event, the 15 students from the Lewisville school district are demonstrating 16 their interest in the important educational issues facing the Lone 17 Star State, and it is a pleasure to recognize them for their 18 exemplary civic engagement; now, therefore, be it

19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 20 Legislature hereby commend the students from the Lewisville 21 Independent School District on their participation in the 2017 22 Literacy Education Day at the State Capitol and extend to them 23 sincere best wishes for a memorable visit to Austin; and, be it 24 further

1

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the group as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.

Parker Simmons Fallon

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 544 was adopted by the House on February 22, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House