RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Georgetown Independent School District is
celebrating the 100th anniversary of its founding in 2017; and

3 WHEREAS, On February 27, 1917, the district was created by 4 the Texas Legislature via passage of Senate Bill 225; Nolan Queen 5 served as superintendent for the inaugural school year, which 6 concluded with commencement exercises for a graduating class of 16 7 young men and women; and

8 WHEREAS, The district employed 18 teachers in its second year 9 to instruct students in mathematics, history, science, geography, 10 English, Latin, Spanish, and reading and writing; in the next 11 decade, the district implemented standardized testing, which was 12 becoming a common practice in school districts across the nation at 13 the time; and

WHEREAS, By the 1970-1971 school year, Georgetown's population exceeded 6,000; the growth of the community has accelerated much more rapidly in recent years, and the district has kept pace, fulfilling its commitment to provide a high-quality education to area youth; and

WHEREAS, Georgetown ISD today serves over 11,000 students at 10 elementary schools, 3 middle schools, 3 high schools, and 2 alternative campuses; promoting a safe, empowering, and inclusive learning environment, it participates in the No Place for Hate initiative of the Anti-Defamation League; and

24 WHEREAS, For the past century, the Georgetown Independent

1

School District has provided generations of young people with a
strong academic foundation on which to build, and it is indeed a
pleasure to join in marking this important milestone in its
history; now, therefore, be it

5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 6 Legislature hereby commemorate the centennial of the Georgetown 7 Independent School District and extend sincere best wishes for a 8 memorable and meaningful celebration to all those associated with 9 the district; and, be it further

10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 11 prepared for the district as an expression of high regard by the 12 Texas House of Representatives.

Wilson

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 549 was adopted by the House on February 23, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House