H.R. No. 551

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Proud members of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority are
- 2 gathering in Austin on February 27, 2017, to celebrate Alpha Kappa
- 3 Alpha Day at the State Capitol; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The nation's first Greek sorority for African
- 5 American women, Alpha Kappa Alpha was founded as a social and
- 6 service organization on January 15, 1908, by Howard University
- 7 undergraduate Ethel Hedgeman Lyle and 19 other students; together,
- 8 these courageous women are today known as "the Twenty Pearls"; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The sorority seeks to cultivate and encourage high
- 10 scholastic and ethical standards, to promote unity and friendship
- 11 among college women, to improve the social stature of women of all
- 12 ages, and to be of service to all mankind; a member of the National
- 13 Pan-Hellenic Council, Alpha Kappa Alpha serves people around the
- 14 world through the efforts of more than 290,000 members in over 1,000
- 15 chapters located in the United States, the Caribbean, Canada,
- 16 Germany, Korea, Japan, and Africa; for more than 100 years, the
- 17 group has made a positive difference with its important work in the
- 18 areas of civil rights, education, economic empowerment, and
- 19 improved health care; and
- WHEREAS, Under the leadership of the sorority's 29th
- 21 international president, Dorothy Buckhanan Wilson, Alpha Kappa
- 22 Alpha continues to address the issues of educational enrichment,
- 23 health promotion, family strengthening, environmental ownership,
- 24 and global impact; and

H.R. No. 551

- 1 WHEREAS, Wearing their official colors of salmon pink and
- 2 apple green, the members of Alpha Kappa Alpha are widely recognized
- 3 for their elegance, charm, intelligence, and quiet strength, and
- 4 the sorority continues to win acclaim for its service to Texas and
- 5 the nation; now, therefore, be it
- 6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 7 Legislature hereby recognize February 27, 2017, as Alpha Kappa
- 8 Alpha Day at the State Capitol and extend to the sorority's visiting
- 9 delegation sincere best wishes for an enjoyable and meaningful
- 10 event.

Reynolds

H.R. No. 551

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	H.R. No. 551
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 551 was 27, 2017, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House