RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, A delegation from the University of Houston is

visiting Austin on March 1, 2017, in celebration of University of

3 Houston Day at the State Capitol; and

4 WHEREAS, The Tier One campus is located in an area that is

5 home to a quarter of the state's population and that generates

6 nearly a third of the state's gross product; the student body, one

7 of the nation's most diverse, fully reflects the rich cultural

8 tapestry of Houston, and the school is designated as both a

9 Hispanic-Serving Institution and an Asian-Serving Institution; and

10 WHEREAS, Each year, the university awards more than 8,000

11 degrees in 300 undergraduate and graduate academic programs; it now

12 can boast more than 255,000 alumni; and

13 WHEREAS, Under the able leadership of chancellor and

14 president Renu Khator, UH has received record levels of research

15 funding; it recently embarked on a \$1 billion capital campaign, and

16 it has received a \$20 million donation for the establishment of the

17 McGovern College of the Arts and \$20 million for construction of the

18 Fertitta Center Basketball Arena; moreover, it has been recognized

19 as a top institution in spurring the upward mobility of low-income

20 students; and

2

21 WHEREAS, The university has been awarded a Phi Beta Kappa

22 chapter; it has a tradition of excellence in athletics as well, with

23 a nationally ranked Cougar football team, an NCAA-record 16

24 national golf titles, and the legendary Phi Slama Jama basketball

- 1 dynasty; additionally, Olympians Carl Lewis and Leroy Burrell
- 2 attended the school; and
- 3 WHEREAS, For nine decades, the University of Houston has
- 4 provided students with an outstanding education that builds a
- 5 strong foundation for success, and in so doing, it has contributed
- 6 significantly to the economic vitality of the Lone Star State; now,
- 7 therefore, be it
- 8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 9 Legislature hereby recognize March 1, 2017, as University of
- 10 Houston Day at the State Capitol and extend to all participants
- 11 sincere best wishes for an informative and enjoyable visit.

Coleman

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriquez of Travis Bonnen of Galveston Israel Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

Speaker	of the Hou	ıse
opted by the	House on M	March 1,

I certify that H.R. No. 553 was adopted by the House on March 1 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House