## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Many proud representatives from the La Joya
Independent School District are gathering in Austin on February 27,
2017, in celebration of La Joya ISD Day at the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, A rapidly growing district, La Joya ISD includes 23 4 5 elementary schools, 8 middle schools, and 6 high schools, as well as the College and Career Center, the Academy of Health Science 6 Professions STEM, and two other academies; the administration has 7 worked tirelessly to encourage more young people to pursue higher 8 education, and to date, students in dual-enrollment courses have 9 received more than 44,000 hours of college credit; in addition, 10 11 students in career and technology programs have earned over 2,000 12 certificates; and

13 WHEREAS, More than 94 percent of students graduate with a 14 recommended or distinguished achievement diploma, and the four-year dropout rate is less than three percent; in the most 15 recent year, the district received the "Met Standard" rating from 16 the Texas Education Agency; it offers a well-rounded curriculum, 17 18 and students have excelled in such areas as band competitions and the ExxonMobil Texas Science and Engineering Fair; and 19

20 WHEREAS, The district benefits greatly from the vision and 21 expertise of superintendent Dr. Alda Benavides, who was named 2015 22 Superintendent of the Year for Region 1 by the Texas Association of 23 School Boards and was ranked among the top five superintendents in 24 the state; under her leadership, La Joya ISD has invested

1

1 significantly in technology, science laboratory materials, employee and student wellness, and safety; moreover, the district 2 added 10 new school buses; teachers, hourly employees, 3 and administrators all received raises in consecutive years, yet 4 5 property taxes were not increased; the district has received approval for a natatorium, a student resource center, and a new 6 employee health clinic building; the school board was named Region 7 8 1 School Board of the Year and was selected as a Top Five Honor 9 Board; and

10 WHEREAS, The education of young Texans is a vital enterprise, 11 and the La Joya Independent School District has demonstrated a 12 strong commitment to providing a challenging and supportive 13 learning environment to prepare its graduates for future success; 14 now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas Legislature hereby recognize February 27, 2017, as La Joya ISD Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere best wishes for an informative and enjoyable stay in Austin.

Longoria

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 563 was adopted by the House on February 27, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House