H.R. No. 566

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Mercedes Gonzalez has been named a 2016 Corpus
Christi Caller-Times/Citgo South Texas Distinguished Scholar in
the student athlete category; and

WHEREAS, The *Caller-Times/*Citgo South Texas Distinguished Scholars program was established to reward local students who have demonstrated excellence in specific areas of achievement; since its rinception in 1988, hundreds of young men and women have been selected for this prestigious honor, and each of the 2016 winners received a \$1,000 scholarship to help fund their college studies; and

11 WHEREAS, The daughter of Oscar and Janie Gonzalez, Mercedes 12 Gonzalez is a senior at Foy H. Moody High School, where she plays third base on the Trojans softball team, earning first-team 13 14 all-district honors at the position; in addition to being a talented and hardworking athlete who also competes in volleyball 15 16 and basketball, she is an exceptional scholar, ranking second in her class of 335 students, with an impressive 4.635 grade point 17 average; after graduating, she hopes to play Division I college 18 softball and to eventually fulfill her long-held dream of being an 19 20 emergency room physician; and

21 WHEREAS, This outstanding young Texan has pursued her goals 22 with tremendous dedication, and she may take great pride in all that 23 she has accomplished as she looks ahead to a future bright with 24 promise; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 566

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Mercedes Gonzalez on her selection 3 as a 2016 Corpus Christi *Caller-Times/*Citgo South Texas 4 Distinguished Scholar and extend to her sincere best wishes for 5 continued success; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Ms. Gonzalez as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Herrero

H.R. No. 566

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 566 was adopted by the House on March 2, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House