H.R. No. 573

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Amanda Vodicka has been named a 2016 Corpus Christi
Caller-Times/Citgo South Texas Distinguished Scholar in the
service and leadership category; and

WHEREAS, The *Caller-Times/*Citgo South Texas Distinguished Scholars program was established to reward local students who have demonstrated excellence in specific areas of achievement; since its rinception in 1988, hundreds of young men and women have been selected for this prestigious honor, and each of the 2016 winners received a \$1,000 scholarship to help fund their college studies; and

11 WHEREAS, The daughter of Michael and Jeanette Vodicka, Amanda 12 Vodicka is a senior at the Harold T. Branch Academy for Career and Technical Education, where she ranks second in a class of 28 13 14 students, with an impressive 4.34 grade point average; her academic interests include history, anthropology, geology, and English, and 15 16 she hopes to someday work for a nonprofit organization or the National Park Service; passionate about helping others, she gives 17 generously of her time and talents as an intern at Wesley United 18 Methodist Church, restocking the food pantry, cleaning the 19 building, and assisting visitors, among other duties; and 20

21 WHEREAS, This outstanding young Texan has pursued her goals 22 with tremendous dedication, and she may take great pride in all that 23 she has accomplished as she looks ahead to a future bright with 24 promise; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 573

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Amanda Vodicka on her selection as 3 a 2016 Corpus Christi *Caller-Times/*Citgo South Texas Distinguished 4 Scholar and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued 5 success; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Ms. Vodicka as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Herrero

H.R. No. 573

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 573 was adopted by the House on March 2, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House