By: Herrero H.R. No. 583

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Greggory Hartsfield has been named a 2016 Corpus

Christi Caller-Times/Citgo South Texas Distinguished Scholar in

3 the technology category; and

4 WHEREAS, The Caller-Times/Citgo South Texas Distinguished

5 Scholars program was established to reward local students who have

demonstrated excellence in specific areas of achievement; since its

7 inception in 1988, hundreds of young men and women have been

8 selected for this prestigious honor, and each of the 2016 winners

9 received a \$1,000 scholarship to help fund their college studies;

10 and

12

13

2

6

11 WHEREAS, The son of Billy and Roberta Hartsfield, Greggory

Hartsfield grew up tinkering with electronics, and his curiosity

about the inner workings of electronic equipment has driven him to

14 pursue building computers and other devices as a hobby; a senior at

15 Foy H. Moody High School, he competes as a member of the school's

16 Underwater Robotics Club, which last year placed second in

17 regionals at the NASA Neutral Buoyancy Lab in Houston; during his

18 junior year, he also led a team of MHS engineering students to a Top

19 2 finish at the Texas A&M University--Corpus Christi Engineering

20 Challenge; after graduation, he plans to major in engineering at

21 the Massachusetts Institute of Technology; and

22 WHEREAS, This outstanding young Texan has pursued his goals

23 with tremendous dedication, and he may take great pride in all that

24 he has accomplished as he looks ahead to a future bright with

H.R. No. 583

- 1 promise; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby congratulate Greggory Hartsfield on his
- 4 selection as a 2016 Corpus Christi Caller-Times/Citgo South Texas
- 5 Distinguished Scholar and extend to him sincere best wishes for
- 6 continued success; and, be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for Mr. Hartsfield as an expression of high regard by the
- 9 Texas House of Representatives.