H.R. No. 592

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The observance of Self-Care Awareness Month in
- 2 February 2017 reminds citizens to pay attention to their health;
- 3 and
- WHEREAS, A lifelong daily habit of healthy lifestyle choices,
- 5 self-care encompasses good hygiene practices, awareness of bodily
- 6 changes, symptom monitoring, and the prevention of infection and
- 7 illness; it requires knowing when it is appropriate to self-treat
- 8 conditions and when to seek professional assistance from a health
- 9 care practitioner; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Today, consumers have access to a wide range of
- 11 over-the-counter medications, which may have been developed as such
- 12 or which may previously have required a prescription; the United
- 13 States Food and Drug Administration permits the sale of OTC
- 14 medicine for the treatment of pain and minor health conditions,
- 15 including colds and allergies; according to a 2012 industry study,
- 16 every dollar spent on these medicines saved the health care system
- 17 as much as \$7, resulting in \$102 billion in annual savings; and
- WHEREAS, Self-care can reduce unnecessary visits to health
- 19 care practitioners, saving consumers money while allowing doctors
- 20 and nurses to spend more time with patients who require their
- 21 special expertise; now, therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby recognize February 2017 as Self-Care Awareness
- 24 Month and encourage all Texans to remain vigilant about their

H.R. No. 592

1 health.

Kuempel

H.R. No. 592

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriquez of Travis Bonnen of Galveston Israel Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	H.R. No. 592
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 592 was 23, 2017, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House