By: Uresti

H.R. No. 597

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas Cultural Trust is recognizing the 2017 2 Texas Medal of Arts Award winners at a gala event in Austin on 3 February 21 and 22, 2017; and

WHEREAS, Presented every two years, the Texas Medal of Arts Awards pay tribute to artists as well as arts institutions and businesses that have made important contributions to the wide variety of artistic disciplines in the state, either through individual achievement or generous support; this year's event is oc-chaired by Guillermo Nicolas and Peter Holt, both of San Antonio; and

11 WHEREAS, The recipients of the 2017 awards are: John Paul and 12 Eloise DeJoria of Paul Mitchell and Patrón Tequila, Corporate Patron; Kris Kristofferson, Multimedia; Lynn Wyatt, Individual 13 Arts Patron; Lauren Anderson, Dance; Yolanda Adams, Music; Dallas 14 Black Dance Theatre, Arts Education; Renée Elise Goldsberry, 15 16 Theatre; the Tobin Endowment, Foundation Patron; Leo Villareal, Visual Art; Frank Welch, Architecture; John Phillip Santos, 17 Literary; Scott Pelley, Journalism; and Kenny Rogers, Lifetime 18 Achievement; and 19

20 WHEREAS, The arts greatly enhance the quality of life in 21 Texas, and the creative individuals, artistic institutions, and 22 committed patrons being honored by the Texas Cultural Trust have 23 contributed immeasurably to the rich cultural tapestry of the Lone 24 Star State; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 597

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate the recipients of the 2017 Texas 3 Medal of Arts Awards and express deep appreciation for their 4 dedication to the advancement of the arts in Texas; and, be it 5 further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the award winners as an expression of high regard by 8 the Texas House of Representatives.