## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Proud members of the Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity are 2 gathering at the State Capitol on February 27, 2017, and this is a 3 fitting opportunity to celebrate the fraternity's exceptional 4 legacy of civic engagement; and

5 WHEREAS, Established at Cornell University on December 4, 1906, Alpha Phi Alpha was the first intercollegiate Greek-letter 6 7 fraternity established by African Americans; founded by seven men who came to be known as the "Jewels" of the organization, Alpha Phi 8 9 Alpha initially served as a study and support group for minority students who were struggling against racial prejudice; these early 10 11 leaders laid the foundation for the fraternity's principles of 12 scholarship, fellowship, character, and the uplifting of humanity; 13 and

14 WHEREAS, In the years that followed, Alpha Phi Alpha chapters were formed at other colleges across the nation; while the 15 16 fraternity placed a strong emphasis on the academic excellence of its members, it also expanded its focus to address the educational, 17 economic, political, and social injustices faced by African 18 Americans and people of color around the world; over the decades, 19 20 many former Alpha Phi Alpha members have stood at the forefront of 21 the fight for civil rights, including W. E. B. Du Bois, Paul Robeson, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., Thurgood Marshall, Adam 22 23 Clayton Powell Jr., Edward Brooke, Andrew Young, and William Gray; 24 and

1

1 WHEREAS, Alpha Phi Alpha has been an interracial group since 2 1945 and now encompasses chapters across the United States; the 3 fraternity has an especially rich history in the Lone Star State, 4 which has been home to three of the organization's general 5 presidents, and a number of prominent Texas leaders are Alpha Phi 6 Alpha alumni; and

7 WHEREAS, Throughout its history, Alpha Phi Alpha has worked 8 to foster a brotherhood of concerned citizens who devote themselves 9 to the greater good, and its members may indeed reflect with pride 10 on their organization's noteworthy tradition of activism and 11 achievement; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas Legislature hereby recognize February 27, 2017, as Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting members sincere best wishes for an enjoyable and meaningful event.

Reynolds

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 602 was adopted by the House on February 27, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House