H.R. No. 610

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Cancer is the leading cause of death from disease
- 2 for children and adolescents in Texas; and
- 3 WHEREAS, In 2014, more than 1,600 Texans age 19 or younger
- 4 were diagnosed with cancer; it is estimated that 1 in 285 people
- 5 will be diagnosed with cancer before the age of 20, and the number
- 6 of cases of childhood cancer has risen 24 percent over the past 40
- 7 years; and
- 8 WHEREAS, During the emotional and often frightening time that
- 9 follows a cancer diagnosis, young patients must rely on caregivers
- 10 to guide them every step of the way; in addition to the essential
- 11 support provided by their families, patients depend on medical care
- 12 delivered by the skilled physicians, nurses, and technicians who
- 13 work tirelessly to help them fight the disease; and
- WHEREAS, In 2007, Texas voters approved a constitutional
- 15 amendment that established the Cancer Prevention and Research
- 16 Institute of Texas, with the mission of expediting innovation in
- 17 cancer research and the development of lifesaving treatments; CPRIT
- 18 devotes fully 10 percent of its funding to childhood cancers, well
- 19 over that of the National Cancer Institute, and all of its funded
- 20 research is conducted in Texas by Texas-based scientists; and
- 21 WHEREAS, The trauma and uncertainty of coping with cancer is
- 22 an experience that no child should face, but with the help of health
- 23 care professionals, caregivers, and dedicated researchers across
- 24 the state, young patients have more hope than ever before of

H.R. No. 610

- 1 overcoming this devastating disease and living full, happy lives;
- 2 now, therefore, be it
- 3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby recognize March 1, 2017, as Childhood Cancer
- 5 Awareness Day at the State Capitol and commend all those who are
- 6 working in behalf of children with cancer and their families.

Lozano

H.R. No. 610

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo	Goldman Gonzales of Williamson González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr	Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray
Frullo	Murr	Wray
Geren	Neave	Wu
Gervin-Hawkins	Nevárez	Zedler
Giddings	Oliveira	Zerwas

	H.R. NO. 610	
	Speaker of the House	
I certify that H.R. No. 610 was	adopted by the House on March 1,	
2017, by a non-record vote.		

Chief Clerk of the House