H.R. No. 616

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Members of the Young Republicans of Magnolia High
Schools are visiting the State Capitol on March 13, 2017, to learn
more about the legislative process; and

WHEREAS, A chapter of the National Teen Age Republicans and High School Republicans of Texas, the club includes students from both Magnolia and Magnolia West High Schools; the members strive to educate others about the political process and the ideals of the Republican Party, and they support local and national candidates and demonstrate their values through community service; and

10 WHEREAS, The club was founded in October 2015, and the 11 following month, members launched Teens Helping Teens, which raised 12 \$1,000 to provide holiday gifts for youth in need; in 2016, the club 13 awarded several scholarships, and it won seven awards at the High 14 School Republicans of Texas State Convention, including Most 15 Outstanding High School Republican Club in Texas; and

16 WHEREAS, During its second year, the club has continued its 17 charitable endeavors; it also participated in the presidential 18 campaign and has welcomed a number of guest speakers on such topics 19 as the U.S. Constitution, freedom of speech, and the nation of 20 Israel; and

21 WHEREAS, The continued vitality of our democracy depends on 22 engaged citizens, and through their noteworthy endeavors, the 23 members of the Young Republicans of Magnolia High Schools are 24 setting a sterling example for others; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 616

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 2 Legislature hereby honor the Young Republicans of Magnolia High 3 Schools on the occasion of their visit to the State Capitol and 4 extend to them sincere best wishes for a memorable and enjoyable 5 experience; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the club as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Bell

H.R. No. 616

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 616 was adopted by the House on March 2, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House