H.R. No. 620

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Residents of Texas House District 95 are gathering 2 on February 23, 2017, at the Texas Capitol to witness firsthand the 3 workings of the state legislature and to celebrate together the 4 place they call home; and

5 WHEREAS, House District 95 includes all or part of the cities 6 of Fort Worth, Forest Hill, Everman, Edgecliff Village, Kennedale, 7 and Arlington; and

8 WHEREAS, Camp Worth, on which the City of Fort Worth was 9 built, was established in 1849 and in the years following would play 10 a prominent role in the great cattle drives that defined mid-19th 11 century Texas culture; this history that is so fundamental to Texas 12 was commemorated beautifully in the Chisholm Trail mural in 13 Sundance Square, where members of the community can still go and 14 reflect on our humble roots; and

15 WHEREAS, House District 95 includes the East Fort Worth area 16 as well as such vibrant communities as Stop Six, the Historic South 17 Side Handley Meadowbrook Neighborhoods, and Downtown Fort Worth, 18 which together encompass many different subdivisions developed as 19 far back as the early 1900s; and

20 WHEREAS, Fort Worth is home to several Tuskegee Airmen, 21 America's first African American military pilots, and was also home 22 to the late Tuskegee Airman Captain Claude Robert Platte Jr., who 23 achieved great prominence as a pilot and flight instructor; Fort 24 Worth is now home to the Claude R. Platte Chapter of Tuskegee Airmen

1

1 Inc., which honors these incredible men and works to ensure that 2 their service is remembered; and

3 WHEREAS, The City of Forest Hill, formerly known as 4 Brambleton Station and Forest Hill Village, has origins dating back 5 to 1860 and has since become an important part of the I-20 corridor 6 and one of the fastest growing communities in North Texas; and

7 WHEREAS, In 2016 alone, town hall meetings were held in 8 District 95 that discussed mental health, career building, renter's 9 rights, senior health awareness, and other important issues, and 10 these gatherings reflect the interest that local residents share in 11 the well-being and continued improvement of their community; and

12 WHEREAS, Texas House District 95 provides residents and 13 visitors alike with a community of rich Texas history and culture; 14 now, therefore, be it

15 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 16 Legislature hereby recognize February 23, 2017, as House District 17 95 Day at the State Capitol and welcome all those from the area who 18 are in the chamber on this day.

Collier

H.R. No. 620

2

H.R. No. 620

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 620

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 620 was adopted by the House on February 23, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House