## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Distinguished representatives of the Texas Tech 2 University System are gathering at the State Capitol on March 1, 2017, to celebrate the system's vital role in the Lone Star State; 3 and 4 5 WHEREAS, The Texas Tech University System, governed by its board of regents and Chancellor Robert L. Duncan, consists of Texas 6 Tech University, Angelo State University, and the Texas Tech 7 University Health Sciences Centers at Lubbock and El Paso; the 8 9 system is a \$2 billion enterprise currently educating more than 51,000 students, averaging approximately \$225 million in research 10 11 expenditures annually, and counting nearly 325,000 alumni; in 12 addition, it has an endowment of over \$1 billion and some 20,000 faculty and staff focused on advancing higher education, health 13 14 care, research, and outreach across the state; and WHEREAS, Each component of the system provides innovative 15 16 educational and research opportunities; Texas Tech University is a major comprehensive research university, led by President Lawrence 17 Schovanec; enrolling more than 36,000 students in 10 colleges and 18 two schools, TTU has set a new fall enrollment record for the past 19 eight years, and it has seen an enrollment increase of 23 percent 20 21 since 2007; with the goal of being one of the nation's premier research institutions, the university's total expenditures in that 22 23 area have increased to \$166 million in 2016, up more than 20 percent

since 2012; additionally, the Carnegie Classification

24

- 1 Institutions of Higher Education listed Texas Tech in its Highest
- 2 Research Activity category, elevating the university as one of the
- 3 115 Tier One research institutions in the nation; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center is
- 5 composed of five schools in various health care disciplines,
- 6 including medicine, nursing, pharmacy, health professions, and
- 7 biomedical sciences, and has trained more than 24,000 health care
- 8 professionals; overseen by Dr. Tedd L. Mitchell, TTUHSC enrolls
- 9 more than 4,600 students and has dedicated more than \$260 million in
- 10 research expenditures over the past five years, with significant
- 11 studies in areas such as aging, cancer, reproduction, and genetic
- 12 diseases; the university also graduates more health care
- 13 professionals than any other health-related institution in Texas
- 14 and addresses the medical needs of more than 2.7 million people who
- 15 live throughout a vast 108-county area; and
- WHEREAS, Joining the system in 2007, Angelo State University
- 17 enrolls more than 9,600 students in six colleges and is directed by
- 18 President Brian J. May; designated a Hispanic Serving Institution,
- 19 ASU was the first university in the state to offer a degree in
- 20 computer science and has been named to the Princeton Review's "Best
- 21 Colleges" list for the past eight consecutive years; unique to ASU,
- 22 its Carr Scholarship program is funded by one of the largest
- 23 endowments at a regional university in the United States, thus
- 24 making scholarships attainable by one of every three of its
- 25 students; and
- 26 WHEREAS, The fourth and newest member of the system, Texas
- 27 Tech University Health Sciences Center at El Paso became a

1 comprehensive health-related institution in 2013 and encompasses

2 the Paul L. Foster School of Medicine, the Gayle Greve Hunt School

3 of Nursing, and the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences; headed

4 by Dr. Richard A. Lange, the university has enrolled more than 600

5 students, is home to the first medical school on the nation's

6 southern border, and conducts important research focused on cancer,

7 diabetes and obesity, infectious diseases, and neurosciences; and

8 WHEREAS, Through their missions, the Texas Tech University

9 System and its four component institutions continue to better the

10 higher education and health care landscapes, and in so doing, they

11 are contributing to the remarkable achievements of the state as a

12 whole; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas

14 Legislature hereby recognize March 1, 2017, as Texas Tech

15 University System Day at the State Capitol and extend a warm welcome

16 to all those from the system who are visiting here today.

Frullo
Holland
Craddick
González of El Paso
Landgraf
Murr
Price
Stephenson

Burrows
King of Hemphill
Darby
Lambert
Moody
Pickett
Roberts

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Gooden Alvarado Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Bell Hinojosa Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Rodriguez of Bexar Isaac Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Coleman Shine Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Stickland Craddick Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Davis of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Wilson Frank Workman Murphy Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	H.R. No. 624
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 624	was adopted by the House on March 1,
2017, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House