H.R. No. 625

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The UTeach program at The University of Texas at
- 2 Austin is celebrating its 20th anniversary in 2017; and
- 3 WHEREAS, A collaboration between the university's Colleges
- 4 of Education and Natural Sciences, UTeach was established in 1997
- 5 as an innovative method of recruiting undergraduate students to
- 6 teach science, technology, engineering, and mathematics; the
- 7 program addresses the critical need for secondary school teachers
- 8 with a deep knowledge of STEM fields, and UTeach students earn
- 9 degrees in their content areas along with teaching certification
- 10 within four years; and
- 11 WHEREAS, One of the top five programs of its kind in the
- 12 country, UTeach reaches future educators through its original
- 13 secondary teacher preparation program as well as through its
- 14 primary education initiative, service learning classes, and
- 15 monthly seminars; the program has been replicated at more than 40
- 16 universities in the United States, with nearly 7,000 students
- 17 currently enrolled in UTeach programs across the nation; and
- WHEREAS, Today, graduates are providing a solid foundation in
- 19 STEM subjects to more than 1.5 million secondary students in Texas
- 20 and beyond, and 86 percent of the program's alumni have continued to
- 21 teach for at least five years; and
- WHEREAS, UTeach has helped foster a generation of educators
- 23 who understand the importance of STEM education in maintaining a
- 24 competitive economy and creating the next generation of innovators,

H.R. No. 625

- 1 and the program is indeed deserving of recognition; now, therefore,
- 2 be it
- 3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby commemorate the 20th anniversary of UTeach and
- 5 extend to all those associated with the program sincere best wishes
- 6 for continued success.

Howard

TT	Γ	TAT -	-
Н	R	$N \cap$	りょう

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 625 was adopted by the House on March 2, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House