H.R. No. 630

## RESOLUTION

- WHEREAS, March 1, 2017, is Texas A&M University--Texarkana
- 2 Day at the State Capitol, and this occasion provides a fitting
- 3 opportunity to recognize this notable institution; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Founded in 1971 as East Texas State
- 5 University--Texarkana, the school hosted upper-division and
- 6 graduate courses on the campus of Texarkana College; A&M
- 7 University--Texarkana became a member of The Texas A&M University
- 8 System in 1996, and subsequently, the state legislature passed a
- 9 bill enabling it to extend instruction to the freshman and
- 10 sophomore levels; and
- 11 WHEREAS, The university began its transition to the 375-acre
- 12 Bringle Lake campus in 2008 with the completion of a building to
- 13 serve students in the College of Science, Technology, Engineering,
- 14 and Mathematics; two years later, the University Center opened and
- 15 the first freshman class enrolled; campus life was enhanced by the
- 16 addition of a residence hall and intercollegiate athletics,
- 17 including soccer, tennis, and baseball; in 2016, the university
- 18 launched its first doctoral program, in Education Leadership, and
- 19 it broke ground for two new buildings, a recreation and wellness
- 20 center and an academic and student success facility; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Today, A&M--Texarkana offers 24 undergraduate and
- 22 13 graduate degree programs, among them new programs in
- 23 kinesiology, chemistry, and biotechnology and a master's program in
- 24 communication; the TAMUT graduate nursing program was ranked among

H.R. No. 630

- 1 the 50 best in the nation by TopMastersinHealthcare.com; with a
- 2 student-to-faculty ratio of 18:1, the university supports
- 3 personalized instruction in smaller classes and promotes frequent
- 4 opportunities for interaction with professors; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Since its inception, Texas A&M
- 6 University--Texarkana has undergone significant expansion while
- 7 continuing to emphasize student engagement in a close-knit
- 8 community, and its commitment to academic excellence has encouraged
- 9 countless young Texans to set and reach higher educational goals;
- 10 now, therefore, be it
- 11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 12 Legislature hereby recognize March 1, 2017, as Texas A&M
- 13 University--Texarkana Day at the State Capitol and extend to the
- 14 visiting delegation sincere best wishes for an informative and
- 15 enjoyable stay in Austin.

VanDeaver

## H.R. No. 630

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo	Goldman Gonzales of Williamson González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr	Oliverson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray
Frank	Murphy	Workman
Frullo	Murr	Wray
Geren	Neave	Wu
Gervin-Hawkins	Nevárez	Zedler
Giddings	Oliveira	Zerwas

		H.R.	No.	630
	Speaker	of the Ho	use	
I certify that H.R. No. 630 was	adopted by the	House on	Marc	h 1,
by a non-record vote.				

Chief Clerk of the House

2017, by a non-record vote.