H.R. No. 645

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Micah Pinson of Shady Shores has been named one of 2 the top two youth volunteers in Texas by the 2017 Prudential Spirit 3 of Community Awards program; and

WHEREAS, Sponsored by Prudential Financial and the National 4 5 Association of Secondary School Principals, the Spirit of Community Awards honor young people in middle school and high school who 6 extraordinary commitment 7 demonstrate an to serving their communities; this year, more than 31,000 teens from across the 8 nation were considered for recognition; and 9

WHEREAS, A seventh grader at Corinth Classical Academy, Micah was born with a physical anomaly that required two surgeries on his left hand, and he received free, expert care from the Texas Scottish Rite Hospital for Children in Dallas; in gratitude for the treatment, he has conducted an annual holiday toy drive for the hospital's patients for the past five years; and

WHEREAS, Each holiday season, Micah, his family, and student volunteers solicit donations door-to-door and place collection boxes at local businesses and other locations, gathering items to be delivered to the hospital a few days before Christmas; so far, he has distributed more than 15,000 toys and games to grateful young patients; and

WHEREAS, Micah Pinson has set an inspiring example of compassion and initiative, and he is to be commended for his exceptional efforts; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 645

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Micah Pinson on his selection as 3 one of the top two youth volunteers in Texas by the 2017 Prudential 4 Spirit of Community Awards program and extend to him sincere best 5 wishes for the future; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Micah as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Stucky

H.R. No. 645

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 645 was adopted by the House on March 9, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House