RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Proud residents of the Alamo City are visiting 2 Austin on February 28, 2017, to celebrate VIVA San Antonio Day at 3 the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, The history of San Antonio can be traced back to 1691, when a group of Spanish explorers and missionaries came upon a river and named it San Antonio, in honor of Saint Anthony, whose feast day was being celebrated; and

WHEREAS, The city was founded in 1718 by Father Antonio 8 9 Olivares; he established Mission San Antonio de Valero, which would become etched in the annals of history in 1836 as the Alamo, the 10 11 site where 189 brave individuals held the mission for 13 days 12 against an army of some 4,000 Mexican soldiers; the cry "Remember the Alamo" became the rallying point of the Texas Revolution; 13 14 today, the Alamo is a shrine and museum and is widely recognized as the cradle of Texas liberty; and 15

16 WHEREAS, San Antonio became formally incorporated in 1837, 17 when the fledgling Republic of Texas granted the city a charter; the community has since retained its sense of history and tradition 18 while carefully blending in cosmopolitan progress; it continues to 19 20 serve as a crossroads and a meeting place, where the rich cultural 21 influences of Native Americans, Old Mexico, German immigrants, the Wild West, African Americans, and the Deep South mingle and merge; 22 23 and

24 WHEREAS, The city has a proud military heritage; great

1

military figures 1 like Pershing, Stilwell, Krueger, LeMay, Chennault, and Eisenhower served at San 2 Antonio military institutions, including Fort Sam Houston, the headquarters for the 3 U.S. Army North and U.S. Army South, and Randolph Air Force Base, 4 5 the home of Air Education and Training Command; in addition, San Antonio is the site of Lackland Air Force Base, the largest training 6 wing in the United States Air Force, and the San Antonio Military 7 8 Health System, home of all U.S. military medical training; and

9 WHEREAS, Recent years have brought remarkable economic 10 development to San Antonio as its skilled workforce, excellent 11 institutions of public and higher education, and high quality of 12 life have attracted important corporate businesses and industries 13 to the city; and

WHEREAS, The city's chambers of commerce serve as leading advocates for the business community and are dedicated to building and sustaining San Antonio's diverse and prosperous economy, particularly in the major local industries of health care, manufacturing, aerospace, information technology, and cybersecurity; and

WHEREAS, Millions of visitors a year delight in visiting San 20 Antonio; in addition to the Alamo, highlights include La Villita, 21 San Fernando Cathedral, the San Antonio Missions Trail, and the 22 famed Paseo del Rio, also known as The Riverwalk; among the other 23 24 attractions that make San Antonio one of the top tourist destinations in the country are SeaWorld San Antonio and the Six 25 26 Flags Fiesta Texas theme park as well as the PGA Tour Valero Texas Open, the Alamo Bowl, and the five-time world champion San Antonio 27

2

1 Spurs; and

2 WHEREAS, In April 2017, the city will once again celebrate 3 Fiesta San Antonio, the biggest 11-day party in the state; first 4 held more than 120 years ago, the event was founded by a group of 5 women who decorated horse-drawn carriages for a parade in front of 6 the Alamo and battled with flower blossoms instead of bullets to 7 honor the heroes of the Alamo and the Battle of San Jacinto; and

8 WHEREAS, San Antonio is truly one of the treasures of the Lone 9 Star State, and VIVA San Antonio Day provides a welcome opportunity 10 to honor the city and its many fine residents; now, therefore, be it

11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 12 Legislature hereby recognize February 28, 2017, as VIVA San Antonio 13 Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation 14 sincere best wishes for an informative and enjoyable stay in 15 Austin.

Bernal

3

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 648 was adopted by the House on February 28, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House