RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud residents of Andrews County are gathering in
Austin on March 1, 2017, to celebrate Andrews County Day at the
State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Situated on the high plains of the Permian Basin, Andrews County was established in 1876 and formally organized in 1910 with Andrews as its county seat; both the city and county are named for Richard Andrews, an early settler and soldier in the revolutionary army and the first man to die in the Texas War for Independence in 1835; and

WHEREAS, Andrews County has long been a leader in the ranching industry in Texas, and with widespread use of windmills, it became an important source of cotton and sorghum; it experienced an impressive oil boom during the 1940s and recently underwent the greatest period of growth and development in its history; it remains one of the state's leading producers of oil and gas, having produced more than three billion barrels of oil since 1929; and

WHEREAS, With unprecedented support from citizens, public officials, and civic organizations in the area, Andrews County hosts the most advanced secure facility for the disposal of Class A, B, and C low-level radioactive waste in the United States; and

21 WHEREAS, The Andrews Independent School District is highly 22 regarded, and its students have earned top honors at numerous 23 University Interscholastic League academic competitions; 24 additionally, the Andrews High School Lady Mustangs golf team has

1

captured the 3A State Championship for six consecutive years, and
the Mustang baseball team is the defending Area Champion from 2016;
and

WHEREAS, The people of Andrews County enjoy an abundance of recreational opportunities, including many exemplary area parks; the county boasts an annual bluegrass festival, and the Andrews Art Guild Show provides a forum for artists to display their works; and

8 WHEREAS, Honoring their heritage as they embrace the 9 opportunities of the future, the citizens of Andrews County may 10 take great pride in the role their community has played in the story 11 of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

12 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 13 Legislature hereby recognize March 1, 2017, as Andrews County Day 14 at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere 15 best wishes for an informative and enjoyable stay in Austin.

Landgraf

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 656 was adopted by the House on March 1, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House