H.R. No. 657

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of the Recording Academy Texas Chapter are
- 2 visiting Austin on February 28, 2017, to celebrate Grammy Texas
- 3 Music Advocacy Day at the State Capitol; and
- WHEREAS, The birthplace of Texas country, Tejano, and other
- 5 distinctive styles, the Lone Star State has a history of producing
- 6 music in a vast range of genres, and such innovative artists as
- 7 Beyoncé, Gary Clark Jr., Flaco Jimenez, George Strait, and Willie
- 8 Nelson have all called Texas home; and
- 9 WHEREAS, To serve the state's vibrant music community, the
- 10 Recording Academy, the organization responsible for the Grammy
- 11 Awards, established a Texas chapter in 1998; at the 59th Annual
- 12 Grammy Awards in 2017, music professionals from Texas received 42
- 13 nominations and won 12 awards; and
- 14 WHEREAS, An integral part of the Texas economy, the music
- 15 industry is tied to more than 160,000 jobs throughout the state, and
- 16 each year, live music festivals generate hundreds of millions of
- 17 dollars in economic activity; as a reflection of its support for
- 18 this important commercial sector, the Texas Legislature created the
- 19 Texas Music Office, which opened its doors in 1990; and
- WHEREAS, Representing the Recording Academy at Music
- 21 Advocacy Day are Texas Chapter governor Bernard "Bun B" Freeman,
- 22 president David Messier, secretary Andrea Villarreal, and voting
- 23 members Christine Albert, Ben Kweller, and Brian Courtney Wilson;
- 24 and

H.R. No. 657

- 1 WHEREAS, The innovative music creators of the Lone Star State
- 2 are furthering an exceptional legacy of artistic achievement, and
- 3 in so doing, they are making a notable contribution to the culture
- 4 and economy of Texas; now, therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 6 Legislature hereby recognize February 28, 2017, as Grammy Texas
- 7 Music Advocacy Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting
- 8 members of the Recording Academy Texas Chapter sincere best wishes
- 9 for a memorable and enjoyable event.

Hunter

H.R. No. 657

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	H.R. No. 657
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 657 was	adopted by the House on February
28, 2017, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House