RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, A delegation from the Western Area of The Links,
Incorporated, is visiting the State Capitol on February 27, 2017;
and

WHEREAS, Founded in 1946, The Links is a volunteer service organization for professional women who are committed to enriching the culture of African Americans and other persons of African ancestry and improving their economic status; it has a membership of nearly 14,000 in 283 chapters across the country and in the Commonwealth of the Bahamas; and

10 WHEREAS, The business and civic leaders, mentors, role 11 models, and activists of this nonprofit corporation volunteer more 12 than 500,000 hours annually in projects to strengthen their 13 communities and make a positive difference in the lives of others; 14 through the years, the group has received awards from such 15 organizations as the United Nations Association of New York and the 16 Leon H. Sullivan Foundation; and

WHEREAS, The dedicated women of the Western Area of The Links 17 18 work in behalf of children, families, and the disadvantaged and support the University of California Davis Women's Cardiovascular 19 20 Medicine Program, the Mayme A. Clayton Library and Museum, 21 historically black colleges, and Habitat for Humanity; Bullying, Trashtalking: It's No Joke, another of the important initiatives of 22 23 the Western Area, empowers youth with skills to address offending 24 behavior; and

1

1 WHEREAS, The members of The Links have demonstrated 2 outstanding leadership and commitment to their communities and 3 their nation, setting high standards of civic engagement to which 4 others may aspire; now, therefore, be it

5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 6 Legislature hereby recognize February 27, 2017, as The Links, 7 Incorporated, Day at the State Capitol and extend to members of the 8 Western Area of The Links, Incorporated, best wishes for a 9 memorable and meaningful visit to Austin; and, be it further

10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 11 prepared for the organization as an expression of high regard by the 12 Texas House of Representatives.

Giddings

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 667 was adopted by the House on February 27, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House