H.R. No. 671

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Texans everywhere are indebted to the men and women
- 2 of the law enforcement profession who willingly place themselves in
- 3 harm's way to protect the safety of their communities, and Corporal
- 4 Bryan Shaw and Trooper Danny Shaw are two such individuals; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Corporal Bryan Shaw, a detective with the El Centro
- 6 College Campus Police, was among the officers present during a
- 7 demonstration in downtown Dallas on July 7, 2016; Corporal Shaw was
- 8 struck when a lone gunman opened fire on police; despite his injury,
- 9 he continued to protect his fellow officers and civilians, and he
- 10 held his post during an hours-long standoff between the police and
- 11 the gunman; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Later that year, Corporal Bryan Shaw's older
- 13 brother, Trooper Danny Shaw of the Texas Department of Public
- 14 Safety, was also injured in the line of duty; on November 25, 2016,
- 15 while he was on assignment in Fronton, near the Rio Grande, Trooper
- 16 Shaw was struck by a bullet from an unknown assailant after a
- 17 firefight erupted on the Mexican side of the river; in the midst of
- 18 the violence, he was transported to a hospital by DPS helicopter;
- 19 and
- 20 WHEREAS, Through their courage and dedication to duty, these
- 21 two outstanding officers have earned the respect and gratitude of
- 22 their fellow Texans, who continue to hold them in their thoughts and
- 23 prayers; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas

H.R. No. 671

- 1 Legislature hereby honor Corporal Bryan Shaw and Trooper Danny Shaw
- 2 for their commitment and perseverance, both on the job and during
- 3 their recovery, and extend to them sincere best wishes for the
- 4 future; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared
- 6 for the Shaw brothers as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Holland Gooden

H.R. No. 671

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Coleman Shine Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	H.R. No. 671
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 671 wa	s adopted by the House on March 1,
2017, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House