## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Proud residents of Tarrant County are gathering in
- 2 Austin to celebrate Tarrant County Days at the State Capitol on
- 3 March 1 and 2, 2017; and
- WHEREAS, Tarrant County was created in 1849 as one of the 26
- 5 counties formed from the Peters Colony; it is named for General
- 6 Edward H. Tarrant of the Republic of Texas Militia, and its county
- 7 seat is Fort Worth; and
- 8 WHEREAS, What began as a frontier community has evolved into
- 9 a modern center for business, education, and world-class culture;
- 10 the 2010 census recorded 1,809,034 residents in Tarrant County,
- 11 making it the third most populous county in Texas and the 16th most
- 12 populous county in the nation; the county has 41 incorporated
- 13 municipalities and is served by 20 outstanding public school
- 14 districts; and
- 15 WHEREAS, Tarrant County has many entertainment and tourist
- 16 attractions that draw visitors from around the world; families
- 17 enjoy Six Flags Over Texas, the Fort Worth Zoo, and AT&T Stadium,
- 18 home to the Dallas Cowboys, as well as exemplary museums, including
- 19 the Kimbell Art Museum and the Amon G. Carter Museum, which showcase
- 20 outstanding collections of classic and American art; other area
- 21 attractions include historic downtown Grapevine, the shops at
- 22 Grapevine Mills, Southlake Town Square, Sundance Square, and the
- 23 Fort Worth Stockyards; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Tarrant County is also home to many excellent

- 1 institutions of higher education, which provide opportunities for a
- 2 variety of students and produce a highly educated workforce; these
- 3 institutions include The University of Texas at Arlington, the
- 4 University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth,
- 5 Texas Christian University, Tarrant County College, the College of
- 6 Saint Thomas More, Arlington Baptist College, Trinity Valley
- 7 Baptist Seminary and College, Tarleton State University-Fort
- 8 Worth, and Texas Wesleyan University; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The county's diverse and prosperous business
- 10 community ranges from cattle ranching to small businesses to
- 11 multinational corporations and includes leaders in the defense,
- 12 aerospace, and transportation industries; Dallas/Fort Worth
- 13 International Airport, Naval Air Station Joint Reserve Base Fort
- 14 Worth, and the Alliance Airport all contribute to the regional and
- 15 state economy; and
- 16 WHEREAS, The visiting Tarrant County delegation of civic,
- 17 academic, and business leaders is headed by County Judge B. Glen
- 18 Whitley and County Commissioners Roy C. Brooks, Andy H. Nguyen,
- 19 Gary Fickes, and J. D. Johnson; and
- WHEREAS, The people of Tarrant County have worked hard to
- 21 build and sustain their vibrant community, and they can be justly
- 22 proud of their rich history, their many achievements, and their
- 23 enduring public spirit; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 25 Legislature hereby recognize March 1 and 2, 2017, as Tarrant County
- 26 Days at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation
- 27 sincere best wishes for an informative and enjoyable stay in

1 Austin.

Geren

Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn	Goldman Gonzales of Williamson González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr.	Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson
Faircloth	Minjarez	Vo
Farrar	Morrison	White
Frank Frullo	Murphy Murr	Workman
Geren	Neave	Wray Wu
Gervin-Hawkins Giddings	Nevárez Oliveira	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 675
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 675 was	adopted by the House on March 2,
2017, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House