H.R. No. 680

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, A group of outstanding students from Duncanville 2 High School participated in the YMCA Youth and Government High 3 School State Conference in Austin on January 26-28, 2017; and WHEREAS, The YMCA Texas Youth and Government conference is 4 5 part of a nationwide civic and academic enrichment program for high school and middle school students; participants attend district and 6 7 state conferences modeled after the state government, where they take on the roles of governor, cabinet members, legislators, 8 9 lobbyists, and reporters; in keeping with its motto, "Democracy must be learned by each generation," the program teaches students 10 11 about the legislative process and encourages them to deal with one 12 another respectfully and professionally as they attempt accomplish conflicting political goals; and 13 WHEREAS, The Duncanville delegation was ably led by principal

WHEREAS, The Duncanville delegation was ably led by principal
Tia Simmons, advisors Dianne Williams and Steve Cain, and teachers
Dedric Williams and Alfredo Rojas; Sharif Long, a student from
Duncanville High School, was elected the 2017-2018 Youth Governor
of Texas, while other students from the school took part as members
of the state affairs forum and the legislative, judicial, lobbyist,
and media sections; and

of the state affairs forum and the legislative, judicial, lobbyist, and media sections; and

WHEREAS, The Duncanville students who attended the conference include Alfredo Acuna, Blessing Adeleke, Emily Alfaro, Jessica Anyolo, Benjamin Arellano, Auyana Arid, Karxyriah Ashley, Chelah Barker, Julia Bowers, Alexis Brown, Sebastiane Caballes,

H.R. No. 680

- 1 Lesli Chavez, Paola Chyuch, Jariah Cole, Kennedi Ford, Adrian
- 2 Gallegos, Stephanie Gonzalez, Caleb Gross, Melanie Hernandez,
- 3 Lyric Johnson, Jadrious Jones, Amaris Joubert, Joseph Lucas, Maggie
- 4 Medina, Melanie Morano, Jenelle Murata, Richel Murata, Kennedy
- 5 Onic, Christina Perez, Michael Pugh, Maria Rios, Arionne Robinson,
- 6 Naomi Sanchez, Robin Shrestha, Kalaya Sibley, Nia Taylor, Abigail
- 7 Vance, Savyna Viraphonh, Kristina Washington, and Destiney Woods;
- 8 and
- 9 WHEREAS, Since its inception, the YMCA Texas Youth and
- 10 Government program has helped countless young Texans become engaged
- 11 and informed citizens, and in so doing, it has shaped generations of
- 12 leaders in the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 14 Legislature hereby commend the students from Duncanville High
- 15 School for their participation in the YMCA Texas Youth and
- 16 Government State Conference and congratulate Sharif Long on being
- 17 elected the program's 2017-2018 Youth Governor of Texas; and, be it
- 18 further
- 19 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 20 prepared for the group as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 21 House of Representatives.

Davis of Dallas

H.R. No. 680

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Coleman Shine Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Wilson Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	H.R. No. 680
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 2017, by a non-record vote.	680 was adopted by the House on March 6,
	Chief Clerk of the House