H.R. No. 692

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Proud residents of Presidio County are visiting
- 2 Austin on March 1, 2017, to celebrate Presidio County Day at the
- 3 State Capitol; and
- 4 WHEREAS, An area steeped in history and possessed of a
- 5 frontier mystique, Presidio County lies in the Trans-Pecos region
- 6 of Southwest Texas and is bordered by the Rio Grande and Mexico; its
- 7 desert terrain varies from rolling plains to canyons and volcanic
- 8 cliffs and rises to some of the state's tallest mountain ranges, as
- 9 well as to its highest waterfall, Capote Falls, with a drop of 175
- 10 feet; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Presidio County was established from parts of the
- 12 Bexar Land District on January 3, 1850, and organized a
- 13 quarter-century later; initially the largest county in the United
- 14 States at 12,000 square miles, it eventually relinquished land and
- 15 today holds the claim of fourth-largest county in the state at
- 16 nearly 3,860 square miles; its original county seat was Fort Davis,
- 17 which became part of Jeff Davis County, and the Presidio County
- 18 government relocated to Marfa two years after the town's founding
- 19 in 1883; and
- WHEREAS, From the 1880s to the 1940s, silver mining was a
- 21 leading industry in Presidio County after a silver deposit was
- 22 found in the Chinati Mountains by local rancher and trader John W.
- 23 Spencer; his discovery led to the opening of Presidio Mine, which
- 24 would produce more than 32.6 million ounces of silver over the

1 course of its existence; and

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

WHEREAS, Today, the local economy is based primarily on 2 3 agriculture; in the southern portion of the county, the loamy soil provides fertile ground for growing tomatoes, melons, onions, 4 5 grain, and cotton, while ranchers have traditionally raised sheep and cattle, including the famed Highland Hereford, wherever there 6 is adequate pastureland; although no permanent streams exist in the 7 8 county, the completion of Elephant Butte Dam across the Rio Grande in 1910 created a reliable supply of irrigation water, greatly 9 10 increasing farming production; and

WHEREAS, Presidio, with a population of nearly 4,000, is the county's largest town and home to the Fort Leaton historic site, a public museum containing ruins, exhibits, and nature trails; the county seat of Marfa has some 1,700 people and boasts historical attractions as well as an active local arts scene, including the world-renowned Chinati Foundation; the town has become a popular tourist draw for its vintage charm and art and for the mysterious Marfa Lights, an atmospheric phenomenon first observed in the night sky in 1883; and

WHEREAS, With its friendly people, majestic scenery, and sundry intangible qualities, Presidio County is truly a treasure of the Lone Star State, and it is indeed a pleasure to celebrate the heritage and contributions of this storied region; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
Legislature hereby recognize March 1, 2017, as Presidio County Day
at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere

H.R. No. 692

1 best wishes for an informative and enjoyable stay in Austin.

Nevárez

H.R. No. 692

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Gooden Alvarado Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Bell Hinojosa Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Rodriguez of Bexar Isaac Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Coleman Shine Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Davis of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Wilson Frank Workman Murphy Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

		H.R.	No.	692
	Speaker o	of the Ho	use	
I certify that H.R. No. 692 was	adopted by the I	House on	Marc	h 1,
by a non-record vote.				

Chief Clerk of the House

2017, by a non-record vote.