## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Citizens of Wharton County are gathering in Austin
 on February 28, 2017, to celebrate Wharton County Day at the State
 Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Wharton County was founded in April of 1846, and its
name commemorates two heroes of the Texas Revolution, brothers
William Harris Wharton and John Austin Wharton; and

7 WHEREAS, Wharton County is located on the Coastal Plain 8 southwest of Houston; the county is bounded by Matagorda, Colorado, 9 and Jackson Counties and by the San Bernard River, which forms its 10 northeastern border and marks the county line with Fort Bend 11 County; and

WHEREAS, Wharton County has more than 41,000 residents and encompasses 1,086 square miles of land, which is divided primarily between prairie and timberland; the Colorado River traverses the county from northwest to southeast, dividing it roughly in half and flowing through Wharton and Glen Flora; and

WHEREAS, Prospective landowners first came to the plains of the Colorado River in 1822, led by Stephen F. Austin under contract with the Mexican government; the Mexican Imperial Colonization Law of 1823 granted 177 acres to the heads of families for farming and 4,428 acres for raising cattle; and

WHEREAS, During the time of the Republic of Texas, the area was divided into three counties, Matagorda, Jackson, and Colorado, and the area consisted of isolated plantation homes and two growing

1

1 towns, Preston and Egypt; and

2 WHEREAS, After Texas entered the United States in 1845, 3 Wharton County was formed of parts of the three existing counties 4 near the intersection of the mail routes from Matagorda to Columbus 5 and from Houston to Victoria; and

6 WHEREAS, The advent of railroads and irrigation brought 7 increased settlement to the area, which remains a center of 8 agricultural, educational, industrial, and medical services for a 9 large region; and

10 WHEREAS, Wharton County's largest cities and townships are El11 Campo, Wharton, East Bernard, Boling, and Louise; and

WHEREAS, Wharton, the county seat, is known for its small-town way of life and its Czech, Danish, and Mexican heritage; it offers proximity to both Houston and the Gulf Coast, and outstanding festivals; it is also noted for its excellent schools and championship football teams; and

WHEREAS, Residents of Wharton County can take pride in their Network and heritage as they look forward to a promising future; now, therefore, be it

20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 21 Legislature hereby recognize February 28, 2017, as Wharton County 22 Day at the State Capitol and extend sincere best wishes to all 23 participants for an informative and enjoyable day in Austin.

Stephenson

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 709 was adopted by the House on February 28, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House