H.R. No. 724

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Lynn Burton is retiring as superintendent of the 2 Orange Grove Independent School District on June 30, 2017, drawing

to a close an outstanding career in public education that has

4 spanned four decades; and

3

5 WHEREAS, A 1971 graduate of Sherman High School, Mr. Burton

6 earned a bachelor's degree in political science and history from

7 Baylor University and a master's degree in education from North

8 Texas State University; he developed an interest in teaching after

9 taking a job as a substitute, and he went on to work as a teacher and

10 coach at Nocona ISD before transitioning into administration with

11 assistant principal posts at schools in Grapevine; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Burton served as a high school principal in Van

13 Alstyne from 1982 to 1987 and subsequently spent five years with the

14 Region IX Education Service Center in Wichita Falls, where he

15 specialized in technology and administrator training; he accepted

16 his first superintendent position with Harrold ISD in 1994, and he

17 served in the same role with the Mt. Vernon and Cooper school

18 districts and as an assistant superintendent for districts in

19 Odessa and Sherman; and

WHEREAS, This skilled administrator became superintendent of

21 Orange Grove ISD in 2009; during his tenure, the district attained

22 notably high accountability ratings, its first-ever perfect score

23 in the Financial Integrity Rating System of Texas, and an A+ rating

24 from Standard & Poor's, the highest in district history; deeply

H.R. No. 724

- 1 committed to financial planning, Mr. Burton also implemented \$3.6
- 2 million in facility improvements in the district; in 2015, his
- 3 leadership skills won recognition when he was named the Regional
- 4 Superintendent of the Year by the Region II Education Service
- 5 Center; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Active in his professional community, Mr. Burton
- 7 has served the Texas Association of School Administrators as an
- 8 executive committee member, as a regional advisory committee chair,
- 9 and as a mentor to other superintendents; he has also been involved
- 10 in the South Texas Association of Schools and the Texas Rural
- 11 Education Association, among numerous other organizations; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Over the course of his long and distinguished
- 13 career, Lynn Burton's commitment to the highest standards of his
- 14 profession has benefited countless young Texans, and he may indeed
- 15 reflect with pride on his many achievements as he embarks on the
- 16 next exciting chapter of his life; now, therefore, be it
- 17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 18 Legislature hereby congratulate Lynn Burton on his retirement as
- 19 superintendent of the Orange Grove Independent School District and
- 20 extend to him sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 22 prepared for Mr. Burton as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 23 House of Representatives.

Lozano

H.R. No. 724

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Coleman Shine Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

								H.R.	No	. 724
				_	Speaker of the House					
I certify	that H.R.	No.	724	was	adopted	by	the	House	on	March
16, 2017, by a no	n-record v	ote.								

Chief Clerk of the House