H.R. No. 727

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas Rural Water Association is holding its
- 2 48th annual convention in Austin from March 29 through March 31,
- 3 2017, and convention participants are gathering at the State
- 4 Capitol on March 29 to celebrate Rural Water Day; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Established in 1969, the Texas Rural Water
- 6 Association is a statewide trade organization with an active
- 7 membership of more than 750 nonprofit water supply corporations,
- 8 small-town water departments, special utility districts, municipal
- 9 utility districts, investor-owned utilities, and water control and
- 10 improvement districts that serve approximately 2.5 million people;
- 11 and
- 12 WHEREAS, TRWA is dedicated to helping directors, managers,
- 13 and operators provide efficient service and clean, safe drinking
- 14 water; it also encourages education and information exchange,
- 15 offers member support services, and handles legislative and
- 16 regulatory representation; moreover, the association advocates
- 17 reasonable, practical, and affordable rules regarding rural and
- 18 small water and wastewater systems; and
- WHEREAS, For more than 45 years, TRWA has done its best to
- 20 "Keep Texas Rural" by ensuring access to safe and affordable water
- 21 and wastewater systems for those who produce food and fiber and for
- 22 communities in every part of the Lone Star State, and Rural Water
- 23 Day provides a fitting opportunity to commend the association and
- 24 its member organizations for their valuable public service; now,

H.R. No. 727

- 1 therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby recognize March 29, 2017, as Rural Water Day at
- 4 the State Capitol and extend to members of the Texas Rural Water
- 5 Association sincere best wishes for a memorable and productive
- 6 annual convention.

Lucio III

TT	_		7 7 7
	-	$N \cap$, , ,

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 727 was adopted by the House on March 16, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House