## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Codwell Elementary in Houston is holding a 2 groundbreaking ceremony on March 3, 2017, to commemorate the 3 commencement of new renovations that will allow Codwell Elementary 4 to reopen its doors to students; and

5 WHEREAS, This outstanding educational institution serves 6 students from Pre-K through 5th grade; under the able leadership of 7 principal Kristy Love, the school offers fine arts and physical 8 development magnet programs and its mission is to inspire and 9 deliver academic success to all students with high academic 10 expectations and high behavioral expectations; and

11 WHEREAS, Codwell is one of the schools in the Houston 12 Independent School District to undergo renovations; the addition 13 will include updated classroom spaces, an upgraded library, a new 14 kitchen, a bus drop off circle and a new entry with security 15 vestibule.

16 WHEREAS, The education of young Texans is of great importance 17 to the future of our state, and with these vital renovations to 18 their campus, the faculty and staff of Codwell Elementary will be 19 better equipped to help students reach their full potential and 20 become engaged and productive members of the community; now, 21 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas Legislature, hereby commemorate the Codwell Elementary groundbreaking ceremony and extend to all those associated with the

1

1 institution sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further 2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 3 prepared for Codwell Elementary as an expression of high regard by 4 the Texas House of Representatives.

Thierry

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 728 was adopted by the House on March 1, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House