H.R. No. 730

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Proud residents of the city of Buda are gathering in
- 2 Austin on March 8, 2017, to celebrate Buda Day at the State Capitol;
- 3 and
- 4 WHEREAS, Established in 1881 as a new depot on the
- 5 International-Great Northern Railroad, Buda was known as Du Pre
- 6 until the post office requested a name change seven years later; one
- 7 explanation for the unique moniker is that Buda comes from the
- 8 Spanish word viuda, or widow, in reference to the two widows who
- 9 cooked at the Carrington Hotel in the 1880s; and
- 10 WHEREAS, The town's early economy centered on supplies and
- 11 services for the nearby ranches and dairy farms, and local
- 12 businesses formed a chamber of commerce in 1928; Buda was
- 13 incorporated 20 years later, and it joined the Hays Consolidated
- 14 Independent School District in 1967; the population began to grow
- 15 in earnest in the 1980s, and today the city is home to approximately
- 16 14,000 people; and
- WHEREAS, Buda hosts a number of special events, including
- 18 First Thursday, organized by the Downtown Merchants' Group, and the
- 19 Downtown Buda Farmer's Market; residents and visitors alike enjoy a
- 20 number of annual holiday festivities, such as the Red, White, and
- 21 Buda Independence Day Celebration, Boo-da Halloween, and the Buda
- 22 Trail of Lights, and other notable attractions include the Buda
- 23 Lions Country Fair & Wiener Dog Races held in April and Budafest in
- 24 December; and

H.R. No. 730

- 1 WHEREAS, The citizens of Buda are building on an impressive
- 2 tradition of achievement and public spirit, and they may indeed
- 3 take great pride in their contributions to the story of the Lone
- 4 Star State; now, therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 6 Legislature hereby recognize March 8, 2017, as Buda Day at the State
- 7 Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere best wishes
- 8 for the future.

Isaac

H.R. No. 730

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Coleman Shine Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody

White Wilson

Wray

Wu Zedler

Workman

Zerwas

Morrison

Murphy

Murr

Neave

Nevárez

Oliveira

Muñoz, Jr.

Farrar

Flynn

Frank

Geren

Frullo

Giddings

Gervin-Hawkins

		H.R.	No.	730
	Speaker	of the Ho	use	
I certify that H.R. No. 730 was	adopted by the	House on	Marc:	h 8,
by a non-record vote.				

Chief Clerk of the House

2017, by a non-record vote.