H.R. No. 738

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Proud citizens of Brazoria County are gathering in
- 2 Austin to celebrate Brazoria County Day at the State Capitol on
- 3 March 7, 2017; and
- 4 WHEREAS, This section of coastal prairie along the Brazos
- 5 River was inhabited during the first three centuries of Texas'
- 6 recorded history by the nomadic Karankawa Indians; the Spanish
- 7 explorer Cabeza de Vaca passed through the area as early as 1528,
- 8 and the pirate Jean Lafitte was rumored to have used the mouth of
- 9 the Brazos as a refuge; and
- 10 WHEREAS, The region was settled in the 1820s by members of
- 11 Stephen F. Austin's Old Three Hundred; Henry Smith of Brazoria
- 12 served as the first American-born governor of the Mexican territory
- 13 of Texas and as a leader of the movement for independence; the town
- 14 of Columbia was the capital of Texas during the first Texas
- 15 Congress, and in 1836, Brazoria County became one of the original
- 16 counties established by the new republic; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Farming and ranching initially constituted the
- 18 mainstays of the county's economy; the discovery of oil and sulfur
- 19 deposits in the early 20th century helped the region grow, and
- 20 chemical processing became increasingly important during World War
- 21 II and after; commercial fishing and the recreation industry have
- 22 helped to ensure continuing economic development; and
- 23 WHEREAS, Today, the numerous cities and towns of Brazoria
- 24 County boast excellent schools and affordable housing; visitors and

H.R. No. 738

- 1 residents alike take great pleasure in miles of sandy beaches, bay
- 2 and offshore fishing, scuba diving, outstanding bird-watching, and
- 3 the Brazoria and San Bernard National Wildlife Refuges; the county
- 4 is also home to such attractions as the Nolan Ryan Center and the
- 5 Varner-Hogg Plantation State Historic Site, and the county seat of
- 6 Angleton annually hosts the Brazoria County Fair, one of the
- 7 largest events of its kind in Texas; and
- 8 WHEREAS, The educational opportunities available to students
- 9 at Alvin Community College, Brazosport College, and the University
- 10 of Houston-Clear Lake Pearland Campus further contribute to the
- 11 county's many amenities; and
- 12 WHEREAS, The largest chemical complex in North America, the
- 13 Texas Gulf Coast Regional Airport, and a flourishing health care
- 14 industry are among the major contributors to economic growth in the
- 15 county, and Port Freeport, ranked 26th in the United States in
- 16 foreign tonnage, is one of the fastest growing ports on the Gulf
- 17 Coast; and
- 18 WHEREAS, The people of Brazoria County take great pride in
- 19 their rich history as they work together to build an even brighter
- 20 future, and it is indeed a privilege to honor them and their unique
- 21 contributions to the story of the Lone Star State; now, therefore,
- 22 be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby recognize March 7, 2017, as Brazoria County Day
- 25 at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation best
- 26 wishes for a meaningful and enjoyable stay in Austin.

Bonnen of Brazoria

H.R. No. 738

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Erank	Goldman Gonzales of Williamson González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr.	Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson
Fallon Farrar	Moody Morrison	Walle White
Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins	Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez	Workman Wray Wu Zedler
Giddings	Oliveira	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 738
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 738 was	adopted by the House on March 7,
2017, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House