H.R. No. 739

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The members of Danbury Baptist Church marked a
- 2 significant milestone in the history of their church when they
- 3 celebrated its 80th anniversary on September 18, 2016; and
- 4 WHEREAS, This long-standing community of faith was organized
- 5 in 1936 after the people in the community advocated for a new
- 6 Baptist church; founded by the Reverend Odell Jamison, the church
- 7 began with 13 charter members and soon welcomed the Reverend J.
- 8 Earnest Stack as its inaugural pastor; the first deacons were
- 9 ordained in 1939, and the foundation for the current sanctuary was
- 10 poured in 1951; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Over the years, the members of Danbury Baptist
- 12 Church have benefited from the able leadership of a number of
- 13 dedicated pastors; today, that tradition is continued by the
- 14 Reverend David Catoe, who serves a unified congregation that
- 15 emerged from the union of Danbury Baptist and Fresh Spring Baptist
- 16 Church of Angleton; joined together with its neighboring house of
- 17 worship in February 2015, Danbury Baptist Church has further
- 18 strengthened its membership and its decades-long efforts to promote
- 19 the gospel in the wider community; and
- WHEREAS, Since its inception, countless area residents have
- 21 looked to Danbury Baptist Church for spiritual guidance and
- 22 enrichment, and it is a pleasure to recognize the faith and
- 23 fellowship that have brought its members together for the past 80
- 24 years; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 739

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby commemorate the 80th anniversary of the founding
- 3 of Danbury Baptist Church and extend to all those associated with
- 4 the church sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the church as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Bonnen of Brazoria

H.R. No. 739

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray

Wu Zedler

Zerwas

Neave

Nevárez

Oliveira

Geren

Giddings

Gervin-Hawkins

	H.R. NO. 739
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 739 v	was adopted by the House on March 7,
2017, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House