H.R. No. 740

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Sandra Shaw, president and CEO of the Brazosport
- 2 Area Chamber of Commerce, celebrated four decades of exemplary
- 3 service to the chamber on January 13, 2017; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Ms. Shaw began her career with the Brazosport
- 5 chamber in 1977, when she joined the organization as its
- 6 bookkeeper; over the following years, she served successively as
- 7 membership director, membership and finance director, and
- 8 executive director before becoming the chamber's president and CEO
- 9 in 1991; a graduate of the U.S. Chamber of Commerce Institute for
- 10 Organization Management, she has led the Brazosport chamber in
- 11 garnering 43 State Awards of Excellence; and
- WHEREAS, In addition to serving on myriad chamber committees,
- 13 Ms. Shaw has given generously of her time and talents to such worthy
- 14 groups as the Texas Association of Business, the Shoreline Erosion
- 15 Task Force, the Women's Health Care Conference Advisory Committee,
- 16 and the Brazosport Business Roundtable; a valued resident of Lake
- 17 Jackson, she has served the people in her community and beyond as
- 18 president of the Gulf Coast Chamber Executives, and she has held two
- 19 terms on the Texas Chamber of Commerce Executives Board of
- 20 Directors; other organizations to have benefited from her
- 21 involvement include the Memorial Child Care Center, the Freeport
- 22 Mainstreet Advisory Board, The Facts Unsung Heroes Selection
- 23 Committee, and the Houston Sheltie Sanctuary; and
- 24 WHEREAS, For her outstanding efforts in behalf of her fellow

H.R. No. 740

- 1 citizens, Ms. Shaw has been recognized by the American Society of
- 2 Economic and Community Developers, and she received the Jane Long
- 3 Pioneer Spirit Award from the Brazoria County Historical Museum in
- 4 2008; in all her endeavors, she enjoys the support of a loving
- 5 family that includes her husband of 34 years, Wayne, and their four
- 6 sons and seven grandchildren; and
- WHEREAS, Throughout her 40-year tenure with the Brazosport
- 8 Area Chamber of Commerce, Sandra Shaw has made significant
- 9 contributions to advancing the chamber's mission and played a key
- 10 role in ensuring the vitality of Brazoria County, and she may take
- 11 well-deserved pride in her exceptional record of achievement; now,
- 12 therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 14 Legislature hereby honor Sandra Shaw for her 40 years of service to
- 15 the Brazosport Area Chamber of Commerce and extend to her sincere
- 16 best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 17 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 18 prepared for Ms. Shaw as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 19 House of Representatives.

Bonnen of Brazoria

H.R. No. 740

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo	Goldman Gonzales of Williamson González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr	Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray
Frullo	Murr	Wray
Geren	Neave	Wu
Gervin-Hawkins	Nevárez	Zedler
Giddings	Oliveira	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 740	
	Speaker of the House	
I certify that H.R. No. 740 was	adopted by the House on March 7,	
2017, by a non-record vote.		

Chief Clerk of the House