H.R. No. 741

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, For over a decade, the Grand Prairie Unity Coalition 2 has brought together individuals who represent a variety of 3 cultural backgrounds and share a commitment to making Grand Prairie 4 a more welcoming and inclusive place for all; and

5 WHEREAS, The group was established in 2004 by city council 6 member Richard Fregoe; meetings are held monthly at the Grand 7 Prairie City Hall, providing residents with the opportunity to 8 offer their perspectives and exchange ideas on how to promote 9 tolerance and celebrate diversity in the community; and

WHEREAS, Members of the coalition have taken part in a wide 10 11 range of cultural events, including the Martin Luther King Jr. Day 12 parade and program, the Cinco de Mayo parade, the annual Juneteenth parade, and a Native American powwow, and the coalition also 13 14 sponsors an annual Unity Banquet and student art contest; furthermore, the group collaborates with area businesses and with 15 organizations such as the NAACP and LULAC; the efforts of its 16 members have contributed to Grand Prairie's recognition as an 17 Inclusive City by the National League of Cities in 2006; and 18

WHEREAS, By encouraging friendship and an appreciation for the uniqueness of every individual, the dedicated men and women of the Grand Prairie Unity Coalition have made a positive and lasting difference in their community, and they may take justifiable pride in all that they have accomplished; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas

1

H.R. No. 741 1 Legislature hereby honor the Grand Prairie Unity Coalition and 2 extend to all those affiliated with the organization sincere best 3 wishes for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the group as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.

Alonzo

H.R. No. 741

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 741 was adopted by the House on March 16, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House