H.R. No. 747

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Proud residents of San Diego, Texas, are visiting
- 2 Austin on March 8, 2017, to celebrate San Diego Day at the State
- 3 Capitol; and
- WHEREAS, In the early 1800s, Julián Flores and his son
- 5 Ventura received two land grants from the Spanish government, and
- 6 in 1819, the Flores family authorized the founding of what became
- 7 known as Perezville; when a post office was established in 1852, the
- 8 town was renamed, and when Duval County was organized nearly 25
- 9 years later, San Diego was designated the county seat; and
- 10 WHEREAS, With the arrival of the Corpus Christi, San Diego,
- 11 and Rio Grande Railroad in 1879, and later the Texas-Mexican
- 12 Railway, San Diego proved to be an important agricultural shipping
- 13 center, particularly for wool and cotton; today, the local economy
- 14 is supported by small businesses, ranching and hunting, and the oil
- 15 industry, and growth has extended the city limits into Jim Wells
- 16 County; and
- WHEREAS, San Diego is a general-rule city, ably led by its
- 18 elected officials, which include mayor Sally Lichtenberger, mayor
- 19 pro tempore Shelly Gaitan, and city council members Ricky Munoz,
- 20 Rolando T. Guerrero, Janie Lopez, and Margarito Maldonado III;
- 21 Aleida Luera currently serves as the city director; and
- WHEREAS, The people of San Diego are building on a long
- 23 tradition of industry and achievement, and they may indeed be proud
- 24 of their notable contributions to the story of the Lone Star State;

H.R. No. 747

- 1 now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby recognize March 8, 2017, as San Diego Day at the
- 4 State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere best
- 5 wishes for an informative and enjoyable stay in Austin.

Guillen

H.R. No. 747

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Bell Hinojosa Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriquez of Travis Bonnen of Galveston Israel Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	H.R. No. 747
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 747 was	adopted by the House on March 8,
2017, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House