RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Echota Cherokee of Texas benefit greatly from
- 2 the leadership of Chief Stuart Parsons Sr. and his fellow officers,
- 3 Vice Chief Wynnfred Batey and Secretary Andrew Parsons Jr.; and
- WHEREAS, The Echota Cherokee are descended from survivors of
- 5 the infamous "Trail of Tears," the forced relocation of the
- 6 Cherokee from their ancestral lands in the Southeastern United
- 7 States to territories west of the Mississippi River in the 1830s;
- 8 today, about 60 people make up the Echota Cherokee of Texas, one of
- 9 several Echota groups in the nation; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Stuart Parsons Sr. played a leading role in the
- 11 establishment of the Echota Cherokee Clan in Texas; a member of the
- 12 Batey family through his mother, Evelyn Batey Parsons, he was
- 13 appointed as the clan's first chief by Chief Charlotte Hallmark of
- 14 the Echota Cherokee of Alabama in 2012, and he has been reelected by
- 15 the Texas clan's members in the years since; he has also represented
- 16 the Echota Cherokee of Alabama at the National Congress of American
- 17 Indians, and he is the owner of a commercial roofing business in
- 18 Waco; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Wynnfred Batey is also part of the Batey family
- 20 lineage, and he has served alongside Chief Parsons as vice chief
- 21 since 2012; Andrew Parsons Jr. is likewise a member of the Batey
- 22 family, and he has held the office of secretary since January 2017;
- 23 and
- 24 WHEREAS, Under the able guidance of these three dedicated

- 1 leaders, the Echota Cherokee of Texas honor their proud history and
- 2 their strong ties of kinship while looking forward to the
- 3 challenges and opportunities of the future; now, therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby commend Chief Stuart Parsons Sr., Vice Chief
- 6 Wynnfred Batey, and Secretary Andrew Parsons Jr. for their service
- 7 to the Echota Cherokee of Texas and extend to them sincere best
- 8 wishes for continued success in their work; and, be it further
- 9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 10 prepared for Chief Parsons, Vice Chief Batey, and Secretary Parsons
- 11 as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of
- 12 Representatives.

Alonzo

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo	Goldman Gonzales of Williamson González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr	Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray
Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins	Murr Neave Nevárez	
Giddings	Oliveira	Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 752 was adopted by the House on March 16, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House