H.R. No. 753

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of Leadership Mission are visiting the State
- 2 Capitol on March 6, 2017, to gain greater insight into the workings
- 3 of state government; and
- 4 WHEREAS, This exceptional program provides opportunities for
- 5 participants to increase their knowledge of vital public issues and
- 6 to visit with the leaders who are making decisions that affect their
- 7 community; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Meeting regularly over the course of a nine-month
- 9 period, participants further develop their skills and enhance their
- 10 knowledge of important public issues as they study topics ranging
- 11 from the history of Mission to city and county government, the
- 12 police and fire departments, health care, education, the media,
- 13 federal agencies, and economic development; in addition,
- 14 participants take a maquila tour; and
- WHEREAS, Classes inspire a spirit of activism and provide
- 16 opportunities for leadership training, networking, and instruction
- 17 from influential figures from both the public and the private
- 18 sectors; each annual Leadership group also completes a project of
- 19 benefit to the community; in recent years, these projects have
- 20 included donations to the Mission Historical Museum, the Mission
- 21 Speer Memorial Library, the Mission Boys and Girls Club, and The
- 22 University of Texas--Rio Grande Valley; and
- 23 WHEREAS, Leadership Mission awards scholarships each session
- 24 to members who are in college and who successfully complete the LM

H.R. No. 753

- 1 program; to raise funds for these scholarships, class projects, and
- 2 the annual legislative trip, members participate in such worthwhile
- 3 events as the Texas Citrus Fiesta, the City Tree Lighting Ceremony,
- 4 and a benefit raffle; they also sponsor the popular Leadership
- 5 Mission Skeet Shoot and Golf Classic; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Through fostering a more informed and involved
- 7 citizenry and developing new leaders, Leadership Mission is helping
- 8 create a brighter and more promising future for the Lone Star State;
- 9 now, therefore, be it
- 10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 11 Legislature hereby honor the members of Leadership Mission for
- 12 their community support and extend to all program participants
- 13 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 14 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 15 prepared for the group as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 16 House of Representatives.

Muñoz, Jr.

H.R. No. 753

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo	Goldman Gonzales of Williamson González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr	Oliverson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray
Frank	Murphy	Workman
Frullo	Murr	Wray
Geren	Neave	Wu
Gervin-Hawkins	Nevárez	Zedler
Giddings	Oliveira	Zerwas

		H.R.	No.	753
	Speaker	of the Ho	use	
I certify that H.R. No. 753 was	adopted by the	House on	Marc	h 6,
oy a non-record vote.				

Chief Clerk of the House

2017, by a non-record vote.