H.R. No. 760

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, St. Mary Catholic School in Gainesville celebrated
its 125th anniversary in 2016; and

3 WHEREAS, Founded by the Benedictine Sisters in 1891, the 4 school served 32 students in 1902, when the School Sisters of Notre 5 Dame took charge of the six-room frame building; enrollment soon 6 thereafter increased to 75, and the school began offering high 7 school classes in 1905; its first senior class graduated the 8 following year; and

9 WHEREAS, The present-day school building was completed in 10 1948, becoming the first major structure erected in Gainesville 11 following World War II; some three decades later, it was completely 12 remodeled, and subsequently, a junior high section and a gymnasium 13 were built; the School Sisters of Notre Dame withdrew from direct 14 administration and classroom instruction in the 1980s; and

WHEREAS, In 2004, the Early Learning Childhood Center was added, and more recently, the lower elementary classrooms were renovated and equipped with updated technology; the school today brovides a faith-based learning environment to children from prekindergarten through the eighth grade; and

20 WHEREAS, The education of young Texans is a vital enterprise, 21 and for more than 125 years, the faculty and staff at St. Mary 22 Catholic School have dedicated themselves to equipping students 23 with a lifelong love of learning that will serve them well 24 throughout their lives; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 760

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 2 Legislature hereby commemorate the 125th anniversary of St. Mary 3 Catholic School and extend to all those associated with the 4 institution sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it 5 further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the school as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Springer

H.R. No. 760

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 760 was adopted by the House on March 16, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House