RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Proud residents from the city of West are coming to
- 2 Austin on March 16, 2017, to celebrate West Day at the State
- 3 Capitol; and
- WHEREAS, Established at its present site in 1881, the town
- 5 was named West nine years later after farmer, postmaster, and
- 6 businessman Thomas West; among those attracted to this vibrant
- 7 community were Czech immigrants who farmed the land, opened
- 8 businesses, shared their European culture, and planted roots that
- 9 are now indelibly woven into the identity of West; and
- 10 WHEREAS, The people of West embrace their history, and the
- 11 city is widely known and officially designated as the Czech
- 12 Heritage Capital of the State of Texas, and it is informally called
- 13 the "Czech Point of Central Texas"; additionally, it is the place to
- 14 be on Labor Day weekend for the annual tradition of Westfest, a
- 15 celebration of Old World foods, music, arts and crafts, and
- 16 numerous other activities; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Over the years, West has become a premier stop for
- 18 travelers on the I-35 corridor between Dallas and Austin, due to the
- 19 bakeries that attract visitors with the promise of kolaches,
- 20 delicious Czech pastries filled with sweet and savory ingredients;
- 21 and
- WHEREAS, West is a small town with a big can-do attitude, and
- 23 its citizens may take great pride in their rich heritage as they
- 24 look forward to the opportunities of the future; now, therefore, be

- 1 it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby recognize March 16, 2017, as West Day at the
- 4 State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere best
- 5 wishes for an informative and enjoyable stay in Austin.

Kacal

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Gooden Alvarado Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Rodriguez of Bexar Isaac Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Coleman Shine Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Wilson Frank Workman Murphy Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

Speaker	of	the	House	

I certify that H.R. No. 766 was adopted by the House on March 16, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House