RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Dr. George Norvell Smith has been named the 2 recipient of the 2017 Osteopathic Family Physician of the Year Award by the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians; and 3 WHEREAS, A Del Rio native, Dr. Smith received his bachelor's 4 5 degree in biology from The University of Texas at El Paso and went on to graduate from the Kansas City College of Osteopathic Medicine 6 7 in 1974; he has been employed as the director of Talecris Plasma Resources, West Rest Haven, and West Emergency Medical Services; 8 during the tragic West Fertilizer Company fire and explosion in 9 2013, he guided the shelter-in-place strategy at the nursing home, 10 11 and although he was injured, he helped coordinate triage efforts 12 for the town; and

13 WHEREAS, Dedicated to his profession, Dr. Smith is a founder 14 of the Texas Osteopathic Medical Association and has served the organization in a number of leadership roles, including president; 15 he also served as president of the Texas Medical Directors 16 Association and of the Texas College of Osteopathic Family 17 Physicians, and he is a member of the board of governors of the 18 Texas College of Osteopathic Family Practitioners, which named him 19 20 2006 Family Physician of the Year; and

21 WHEREAS, Dr. Smith has served on the West Hospital Authority 22 board of directors for more than three decades, and he became its 23 president in 2009; moreover, he has served the West Independent 24 School District as a team physician and as a member of the Health

1

Advisory Committee; he has benefited the wider community as 1 president of the Kiwanis Club, as president of the Sokol Gymnastics 2 3 Association of West, as associate director and Safety Committee chair for Westfest, and as a volunteer announcer for the West Youth 4 Baseball and Softball Association; in 2002, the West Chamber of 5 Commerce named him Citizen of the Year, and among many other 6 7 accolades, he has received the Jefferson Award from the American 8 Institute for Public Service; and

9 WHEREAS, Through his professional and civic contributions, 10 George Smith has made a lasting, positive difference in his 11 community and beyond, and he is truly deserving of this prestigious 12 honor; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate Dr. George Norvell Smith on his receipt of the 2017 Osteopathic Family Physician of the Year Award from the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians; and, be it further

18 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 19 prepared for Dr. Smith as an expression of high regard by the Texas 20 House of Representatives.

Kacal

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 769 was adopted by the House on March 16, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House